Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2010, 01:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 294
Predrilledvs.overflow

I have been shopping for aquariums for a few weeks now. I still dont fully understand how the predrilled tanks work. What is the difference between that and just buying an overflow and not drilling a tank?
I just want to know if it is worth it to buy one that is already drilled or just buy an overflow. Where do they even drill the holes? Any feedback will help.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
sgc0286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:48 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
A predrilled ReefReady tank is the way to go. The "overflow box" is built in and the holes are drilled in the bottom of the tank for the drain line and return line. Plumbing and setting up a sump is alot easier with a predrilled tank. Your drain line and return lines are already under the stand waiting to be hooked up.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 10:00 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
As usual I couldn't agree more with Larry. Get a pre-drilled tank. Most already have the overflow boxes and plumbing.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
Some of the other differences: With an overflow you typically have to work harder to get the flow the first time because you have to empty the air out of the tube from the tank to the outside overflow (using a tube). Sometimes this also gets air pockets that limit the flow. Also, with an overflow you can't put the tank all the way against the wall, you have to leave room for the overflow.

I've never had a pre-drilled, only and overflow and I personally didn't like it. I ended up getting rid of that and went with a canister filter.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 02:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 294
Thank guys!
__________________
sgc0286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drilled, flow, led, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got the Overflow InfernoST DIY Projects 11 11-02-2009 08:28 PM
overflow hottievols General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-14-2009 05:19 PM
overflow help joe&rae General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 04-01-2009 12:46 AM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Is this enough overflow? kidafius Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-20-2003 01:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.