Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2013, 12:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
AmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Prefilter Sponge

I've never used a prefilter sponge, but I recently read in differently places people talking about these. What are your thoughts? Should I use one? Why?

My filter is the AquaClear 50
__________________

__________________
AmyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
I just put a sponge on my intake so fry can't get sucked up. Is that the kind of prefilter you are talking about? I also use AC's on some of my tanks and have not used them.
__________________

__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
AmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by brennae View Post
I just put a sponge on my intake so fry can't get sucked up. Is that the kind of prefilter you are talking about? I also use AC's on some of my tanks and have not used them.
Yes. I was just wondering if they served any more useful of a purpose then to keep fry out if the filter.
__________________
AmyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Yes ..... use the fluval sponge

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyJ View Post
Yes. I was just wondering if they served any more useful of a purpose then to keep fry out if the filter.
**************

I have a genuine fluval pre-filter sponge on my 29 gallon with Fluval C3. It is almost essential when using the fluval C series since, unlike the aquaclear, the entire polyfoam pad must be replaced and cannot be rinsed clean.

Fluval C series Poly/Foam Pad not reusable-sharing my experience

[In an aquaclear, you can of course put polishing pad or floss in the carbon chamger to get the same result.]

The fluval pre-filter sponge also fits on the AquaClear series. Bottom line is the sponge pre-filter lasts forever and is great because it:

1) keeps debris out of your filter reducing replacement of media.

2) builds its own colony of beneficial bacteria ..... thus you can rinse it in clean aquarium or distilled water at times that don't coincide with cleaning of your filter or replacement of media within your filter.

The pre-filter concept is great on my aqua-tech on my 38 gallon as well. I use a bio bag "casing" filled with floss so water in the "dirty water" chamber is pre-cleaned ..... which enables me to put seachem purigen and seachem matirx BEROFRE the water passes through the regular aqua-tech filter elements ... to which I also add 100 micron polishing pad.

Note: I plan to replace my 330 GPH aqua-tech on my 38 gallon with a fluval c3 + aquaclear 50 within the next few months.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 12:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
AmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul1792 View Post
************** I have a genuine fluval pre-filter sponge on my 29 gallon with Fluval C3. It is almost essential when using the fluval C series since, unlike the aquaclear, the entire polyfoam pad must be replaced and cannot be rinsed clean. Fluval C series Poly/Foam Pad not reusable-sharing my experience [In an aquaclear, you can of course put polishing pad or floss in the carbon chamger to get the same result.] The fluval pre-filter sponge also fits on the AquaClear series. Bottom line is the sponge pre-filter lasts forever and is great because it: 1) keeps debris out of your filter reducing replacement of media. 2) builds its own colony of beneficial bacteria ..... thus you can rinse it in clean aquarium or distilled water at times that don't coincide with cleaning of your filter or replacement of media within your filter. The pre-filter concept is great on my aqua-tech on my 38 gallon as well. I use a bio bag "casing" filled with floss so water in the "dirty water" chamber is pre-cleaned ..... which enables me to put seachem purigen and seachem matirx BEROFRE the water passes through the regular aqua-tech filter elements ... to which I also add 100 micron polishing pad. Note: I plan to replace my 330 GPH aqua-tech on my 38 gallon with a fluval c3 + aquaclear 50 within the next few months.
. Thank you for the helpful response.
__________________
AmyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.