Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-02-2012, 03:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Protein skimmer

Hey everyone,
I am trying to figure out what type of protein skimmer I want. I wanted to get one that could go in sump and hob, bc eventually I want to upgrade from my canister filter to a sump. I have heard reef octopus is good, but they make either or. They are either hob's or in sump. I was looking at this coralife http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000BJP4Z6. Does anyone have any experience with them or have any other suggestions. Oh yeah its for a 70 gallon, 4' tank. Thanks.

Lindsay
__________________

__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Coralife skimmers ate garbage ime. I hade two that broke within a year. Just get a hob reef octo hang on. They work super well apparently. You could just hang it on your sump too.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Oh I didn't know that, I thought you had to have an in sump one to be able to use it that way. I am so confused about how to make a sump! I've watched tons of videos but I just don't get it. Maybe my husband will understand. If you have a in sump skimmer do you need a pump? If some could tell me things needed to build one I think i could figure it out. Thanks!

Lindsay
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Yes you still need a pump. Building a sump is simple. Just glue some acrylic or glass baffles in!!!! I made one in about 1 hour total. You just measure the inside and then make bubble traps. Skimmer first, then refugium, then return.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Ok so I think I'm gonna get the reef octopus 6 in sump skimmer. It says it comes with pump, so I will still need another one for that side, I know I need a return pump too. I thought the pump that comes with skimmer would work as the input pump. Sorry I posted a different post about sumps but nobody responded. Thanks.

Lindsay
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I'm so confused..... Input pump for what??
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
Sorry, I don't think i am explaining myself well. I have just learned about sumps so i have no idea what the correct words would be. What I meant by input is the pump bringing the water down into sump, or is it just gravity fed? I think I just answer my own question. So, there is no pump on the entering side. so do I need anything besides a pipe running from back of tank to the sump, what stops it from overflowing in sump. I am sorry if these are stupid questions its just I'm a girl that knows nothing about how this kind of stuff works and I didn't want to tell hubby what he needs to build until I have a better grasp on how it works. Thanks.

Lindsay
Btw I ordered the reef octopus 6 in sump, for 150 gallons.
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Lol it's gravity fed. It don't suck more water than the height of the drain. Thats why you have overflows/ pipes going to the top of the tank.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lindsay1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 256
So my tank is acrylic so i was thinking of drilling it, what kind of overfow would be needed? I've seen ones that hang off back but that wouldn't work with drilled. What do you mean by pipes off the top wouldn't the hole need to be drilled on the back. Sorry again if these are dumb questions.

Lindsay
__________________
Lindsay1718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
If its not drilled yet a hob overflow would work. I mean the opening of the tube is at the top of the tank. If it was at the bottom the tank would drain until it got to that point.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.