Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-24-2015, 03:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Protein Skimmer?

Quick run down of my set-up

50g Display tank
20 Gal Sump
30lbs of Dry live rock from BRS
20lbs of live sand, CaribSea stuff

I have a heater in the sump

the tanks has been running for about 1 month with SW. I am due for another Water change and I was suggested to put some pieces of fish food in the tank to start the cycle.

Now, when should I start running my protein skimmer, that is the last piece of equipment to start up and I have not been running it since I have nothing to make waste (No fish in tank yet)

Can I run it anytime now to get it adjusted etc?

THANKS
__________________

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 05:00 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
If you haven't started cycling your tank, don't do water changes. There won't be anything in there using up the elements or building up from the nitrate cycle.
Get yourself a cocktail shrimp and throw it in some panty hose. This will provide you easy clean up and will provide an ammonia source without excess phosphates going into the water column.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 05:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
so using food will not accomplish the same thing?

what about running the skimmer?
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 06:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
don't bother with the skimmer until after the tank is cycled and you start populating it.
There really is no need for it at this point and it could be counter-productive in terms of cycling the tank.
__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, rot, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protein Skimmer or No Protein Skimmer? Bettafanatic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 05-24-2012 08:42 PM
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.