Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2005, 04:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
Protein Skimmer

i was wondering if any one could tell me anything about the Berlin Turbo Hang on Protein Skimmer
__________________

__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 05:02 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
skip it they are not the best performing skimmers on the market. Go with a remora pro and you will be much happier in the long run.
__________________

__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 05:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
I am lookin for something that is rated for around 200 gallons so i need something a little bigger that will hang on
__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:24 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
No matter what the gallon ratings are, the Remora Pro will skim circles around the Berlin. I've heard good things about the Turboflotors, but I have never used or sold one. You might look into one of those, but my choice would be the Remora Pro with a Mag 3.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
how high does the water leve in the tank need to be for the Remora Pro to work.
__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
what is the difference between one with the drain fitting and one with out.
__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:33 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
The water would have to be within 3-4" of the top of the tank. Since most folks keep their tanks full, it's usually not a problem. However, if you wanted to run the water level lower, it would just be a matter of using a longer hose from the pump to the skimmer. The model with the drain fitting is designed to be used with a waste container. The drain is in the collection cup and will keep the cup from overflowing. IMO, this isn't a good idea because the skimmer should be cleaned long before the cup fills up.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
sweet thanks
__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 12:01 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to FeedingFrenzy20
the skimmer will be going in my refugium and the water level is not all the way to the top that is y i was wondering. would u suggest to run it simultaneously with my seaclone 150.
__________________
FeedingFrenzy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 01:21 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
water level is unimportant in the remora series. As long as the pump is under water you are fine. You can always extend the pump down a little with a piece of clear tubing. And as logan said the remoras really need a clean cup to work at 100%.
__________________

__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM
Protein Skimmer SerLunchbox Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-03-2005 02:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.