protein skimmer help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

01n3on

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first time using a protein skimmer on a saltwater set up. The tank is a 5 gallon, with 5 lbs of live sand, as well as 5 lbs of live rock. I am using an AquaClear 20 as main filtration. My skimmer is an Azoo Mignon Skim 360, for tanks up to 20 gallons, pumps 95 gph. There are no inhabitants at this time. How do I adjust for the right amount of skimmate? Also, it pours bubbles into the tank, clogs up my aquaclear, and the cartridge in the mignon with bubbles. Is this normal? Its been running for a week now. All help appreciated!! Thanks!!!

01n3on said:
This is my first time using a protein skimmer on a saltwater set up. The tank is a 5 gallon, with 5 lbs of live sand, as well as 5 lbs of live rock. I am using an AquaClear 20 as main filtration. My skimmer is an Azoo Mignon Skim 360, for tanks up to 20 gallons, pumps 95 gph. There are no inhabitants at this time. How do I adjust for the right amount of skimmate? Also, it pours bubbles into the tank, clogs up my aquaclear, and the cartridge in the mignon with bubbles. Is this normal? Its been running for a week now. All help appreciated!! Thanks!!!

Honestly ,..you are not going to need a skimmer on a tank that small,..it'll probably be more hassle than its worth,...just do a 10 - 20 % water change weekly and you will be just fine.
Skimmers are usually used for tanks that are much larger,..prob starting around 30 gallons and up

The reason I opted for one is I cant do. Pwc tat often, and I'm trying to promote coralline algae. The lps said that it would be a good idea to help promote coralline and reduce phosphates and nitrates.

01n3on said: