Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2011, 07:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 327
Question protein skimmer not working anymore?

i have a remora protein skimmer on my 45 gallon tank for about 5 months nnow which has been working great, i recently had to treat the tank with herbtana for ick so i shut it off for a week to do the treatment its not been on since saturday and it hasnt collected any water or dirt really theirs a very low ammount of water which is a dark brown so it has collected a little bit but thats all thats in their does it need time to break in again? or do i hafta adjust the flow again which i dont know why i would have to because it worked perfectly before shutting it off any help would be appreciated thanks guys!
__________________

__________________
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
The herbtana junk probably gunked up the injector. Have you cleaned the injector out? (You should do it every couple months, regardless.) Turn off the skimmer and take collection cup out and unscrew the plug that's at the top of the elbow on the intake tube coming from the pump. Use the brush that came with the skimmer and scrub up and down several times. Screw the plug back in. Be sure to put that plug back in before turning back on the pump, or you'll have quite a mess!
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 327
alright im gonna try that this saturday thank you man i dont think my skimmer came with a brush tho could i use something differant? anything that would fit in the hole i guess
__________________
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 327
ok so i cleaned the injector and while i was at it i just cleaned the whole skimmer and ran hot water through it, now im assuming it is going to have to break in again right? if so how long untill i should notice an improvement and if this doesnt work what else could be the problem to why its not working anymore
__________________
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 327
im noticing i am getting micro bubbles again right after i just fed is that a good or bad sign? or means nothing
__________________
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 04:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
You'll probably have a little break in period again, depending on how well you cleaned it out. Other than clean the injector, clean the pump, and clean the neck of the collection box, there's no other maintenance you can do on the thing.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 327
Yea it hasn't collected anything yet hopefully It does
__________________
Jarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
I am having the exact same problem. I have had it about a year and it worked fine and I noticed it wasn't skimming well anymore and I took it apart and cleaned it, took out the screw and brushed up and down that hole with a small
brush, this was 2 nites ago and it shows no sign of skimming at all. I have the
Maxijet 1200 pump with it and the preskimmer box. I am thinking of going another route. I have a 36 gal sw tank. I have a seaclone 100 on my small
20 g QT which has turned in to just another tank heaven forbid anyone gets sick --and it is skimming fine. I'm about to think that they work the best for me.
__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 08:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 218
To add to that I also am aggravated by they need to monitor the water depth
constantly to keep it at a perfect level to perform properly. I have caught it
running too low and making noise and I may have just let it run that way too
long by mistake.
__________________

__________________
FishFreak1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my protein skimmer working? prisoner1572 DIY Projects 4 04-01-2011 02:31 PM
Protein skimmer not working. ThAtGuY11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-15-2007 07:00 PM
Is my protein skimmer working? mnestroy Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 05-11-2006 10:21 AM
Is my Protein Skimmer working? spinman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-04-2005 01:03 PM
Protein Skimmer isnt working? hotskate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-01-2003 03:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.