Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-07-2010, 07:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Pump question

What sort of pump do I need for a 12 gal sump, pumped into a 50 gal tank. What I'm looking for are names or maybe model numbers, even sizes of pumps(power, or whatever it's measured in). Also the best place to look for them.
__________________

__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:02 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Moved to the General Hardware and equipment Discussion forum.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 10:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Sorry, didnt see that forum.
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 01:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 54
i love my quietone pump. it is actually very quiet and works either as submersible or inline, which is nice if heat is something you worry about, although doesnt seem to effect temp much as submersible for me.
size depends on how high it has to pump the water and how much water your overflow can deliver. quietone 1200 may be worth a look.

lowes actually have a good selection, or mine does, in the pond section. from 75gph up to something stupid like 1200gph. you need to figure out the 'head', how high the pump needs to push the water, and how much your overflow can deliver. if you have a manufactured one, the manufacturer or the instructions should tell you. then need to check the pumps and see how many GPH it can do at that height. mine will do 570gph or something, proudly boasted on the box, but in reality, it only do that at 1 foot, progressivly less the higher you go.
a lot will have a graph on the box, or their website, showing you the GPH at 1 foot intervals. i believe the quietone 1200 has an adjustable output, so you can slow it down if it pumps too fast. just dont get a pump that pumps more than your overflow can do. overflow will only go as fast as your pump.
__________________
bobberwobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 09:44 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
The pump size depends on the overflow. You need to match the flow of water from the tank to the sump so y9ou don't underrun (floodiing the floor) or overrun (emptying the sump, causimg the pump to run dry) your overflow.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 02:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 294
How do you figure out what your overflow is rated for?
__________________
sgc0286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
What about using a cut off valve to adjust the flow?
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:46 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Well you can start by usig the Weir calculator, or just look at the rating of the overflow you buy.

Are you making your own overflow?
If it's built in then it's pretty simple. Ask the tank manufacturer what it's rated for or use the chart at All About Bulkheads.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 07:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Ya I'm building my own. Havin trouble gettin the flow even. How long do I have to wail before the PVC cement I used to fasen my pipe is safe for the water?
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:33 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
It's an onstant bond, but I would wait 24 hours to allow it dry competley.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pump question! Hollywood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 11-13-2008 12:22 AM
Pump Question Todd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-14-2005 10:53 PM
question about pump fisheyes General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-27-2005 07:58 PM
Pump question... skydvr General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-29-2005 12:28 PM
pump question dralarms Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 06-27-2004 04:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.