Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2015, 11:53 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rrpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 26
I'm planning on buying everything from my lfs so is it necessary to get a quarantine tank??
__________________

__________________
rrpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:05 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrpod View Post
I'm planning on buying everything from my lfs so is it necessary to get a quarantine tank??

It was covered in the links I supplied but it's now obvious I supplied them for nothing.


Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 10:33 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rrpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 26
I tried the link multiple times but for some reason it isn't working. I am using the mobile so maybe that has something to do with it.
__________________
rrpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:42 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by treemanone2003 View Post
It was covered in the links I supplied but it's now obvious I supplied them for nothing.


Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!
Chill Treemanone hes right the app on my phone don't allow me to open links
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrpod View Post
I tried the link multiple times but for some reason it isn't working. I am using the mobile so maybe that has something to do with it.
Yea the links don't open on android not sure about I phone
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:32 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rrpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
Chill Treemanone hes right the app on my phone don't allow me to open links


Yea the links don't open on android not sure about I phone

Thanks!
__________________
rrpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:45 PM   #16
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by treemanone2003 View Post
It was covered in the links I supplied but it's now obvious I supplied them for nothing.


Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!
Relax, not everyone is able to read through links. And those links have a huge pile of data in them, so people aren't going to retain everything immediately. Not that this is a bad thing, it's good to have questions to answer.


To answer the question, if you are getting all of your fish at once, no a QT is not necessary. However, if you have any inkling of getting new fish at some point, it's good to have one on standby.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 02:36 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rrpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Thanks!
__________________
rrpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 04:10 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
Chill Treemanone hes right the app on my phone don't allow me to open links


Yea the links don't open on android not sure about I phone


Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey View Post
Relax, not everyone is able to read through links. And those links have a huge pile of data in them, so people aren't going to retain everything immediately. Not that this is a bad thing, it's good to have questions to answer.





To answer the question, if you are getting all of your fish at once, no a QT is not necessary. However, if you have any inkling of getting new fish at some point, it's good to have one on standby.

I am chill and relaxed. The links I posted were in #2 and #5. I guess it was wrong on my part to presume that if by post #11 it wasn't read, it was because the op desired not to and not knowing there is an accessibility issue. Any indication that there is an existing issue would not have resulted in my statement. For that, I apologize.

I agree there is a ton of data in those links, however, i think there will be a larger split (75% for and 25% against) having an extra tank for QT/hospital as I outlined in post #10. Personally I really don't think it matters if all the fish come from the same store. With the numerous discussions about not adding too many fish at once so the bacteria can catch up and the countless others of adding new fish and now some have white spots, a QT is imperative. With that, the other bunch of threads that quite often show up about treating the whole tank or not. Well, we know this of course depends on the fish in the tank, the meds needed to treat, and sometimes it's not possible. Then there's always "What meds should I have in case" threads.

If to have and not need far outweighs to need and not have, and an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure, what sense does it make not to invest in something easy, and why would so many recommend.


Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 05:45 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Patty1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
Chill Treemanone hes right the app on my phone don't allow me to open links


Yea the links don't open on android not sure about I phone
Mine is android and I can access them all. Its gotta be their settings or actual phone.
__________________
Patty1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 05:58 PM   #20
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
If you get all the fish for a new tank at the same time I don't see the point in quarantining anything. Having a hospital tank is certainly good idea, although with most issues (ich and other external/internal parasites, bacterial infections, etc) I would be treating the entire tank system and not segregating affected stock to a hospital tank for treatment. Hospital tanks are invaluable when you need to take out a beat up fish, and tend to work better than breeder nets.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chasing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How soon is too soon to add coral? dmolavi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 34 03-21-2013 11:28 PM
How soon is too soon??? DOMINATOR Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 05-06-2011 11:46 PM
Eel purchasing assistance Fishboy-from-NY Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-31-2004 02:01 AM
Livestock purchasing zoe Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-19-2002 11:01 AM
Purchasing and setup of new aquarium NetBloke Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-09-2002 09:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.