Purigen

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

glock26

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've heard a little about this. But everything I've heard is great. I see it's also rechargeable. If it does work so great Why doesn't it come with filters or more popular? Was thinking of getting some. What's your thoughts?

I've heard a little about this. But everything I've heard is great. I see it's also rechargeable. If it does work so great Why doesn't it come with filters or more popular? Was thinking of getting some. What's your thoughts?

I like it, I assume it works... That being said, unless you're very good with filter maintenance (one of my bad habits is I am not a proliferate filter cleaner) than it will just "fill up" and continue to not do its intended job.

As for keeping the water nice and clean, I now just stick with filter floss I replace once a week, by then it is usually completely brown with crud, I cut a new piece to size and add it in. Keeps my water visually clean anyway. Purigen would likely do the same if I kept it charged up.

As for filters coming with it, Seachem owns the right to Purigen, so I assume they would want a chunk of money from filter companies for using the product. Plus filter companies spend loads of money engineering their own media so it wouldn't make sense to just toss those assets away in favor of the Purigen. Also, filter companies will advertise their carbon pads/activated carbon as a replaceable/disposable item, where as Purigen is not, so there is a source of revenue for filter companies.

Its not expensive product. Really no need to recharge it.

Yup, I feel it is worth it.