Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2014, 07:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 35
Python 25 foot No Spill System

I just ordered one of these from Amazon and it seems like a solid piece of equipment. The only issue I have is that I don't seem to have enough water pressure or seals that are tight enough to do the job. While attempting to use this, I caused my faucet seals to leak rather than produce enough pressure for a siphon.

Is there a special technique that makes this thing work?
__________________

__________________
MN_Aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 10:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Redwolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ct, usa
Posts: 436
They work great, when they connect properly. I took the end of the one I used to have, went to my true value store, and had the guy who knew the plumbing isle find me a way to just unscrew my faucet aerator and screw in the fitting for the python. Worked great for a long time

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Redwolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 11:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by MN_Aquarist View Post
I just ordered one of these from Amazon and it seems like a solid piece of equipment. The only issue I have is that I don't seem to have enough water pressure or seals that are tight enough to do the job. While attempting to use this, I caused my faucet seals to leak rather than produce enough pressure for a siphon.

Is there a special technique that makes this thing work?
Try some plumbers tape on the adaptor that goes into the faucet.....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 11:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 35
you're not understanding. The leak is coming from the seal around the base of the faucet where it connects to the sink. It's also not producing enough water pressure to create a siphon. Neither the siphon hose or the hose fitting is leaking.

Do I need some kind of industrial wash tub with heavy duty seals on the faucet?
__________________
MN_Aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Redwolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ct, usa
Posts: 436
So, it's leaking where the faucet arm and base come together?

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Redwolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:03 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Redwolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ct, usa
Posts: 436
Could you show a pic of where it's leaking?

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Redwolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwolf91 View Post
So, it's leaking where the faucet arm and base come together?

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Yes. It leaks from there and won't create a siphon.
__________________
MN_Aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:06 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Redwolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ct, usa
Posts: 436
Does it leak without the python attached?

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Redwolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Redwolf91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ct, usa
Posts: 436
Apologies if the questions seem stupid, just trying to be sure I understand

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Redwolf91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:11 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwolf91 View Post
Does it leak without the python attached?

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
no, only when the python is attached. The python seems to create a lot of back pressure, which is what's causing my faucet to leak at the base arm.
__________________

__________________
MN_Aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
should I do a 4 foot light or 2 two foot lights? amesdrew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 08-25-2011 12:04 PM
python no spill for 10 gallon? ringfinger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 29 03-01-2005 12:10 AM
Python No-Spill System...and regular bathroom faucets PK Tester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-01-2004 07:46 PM
Python No Spill-where is the best deal? myriam Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 10-01-2003 01:53 AM
Python No Spill Clean and Fill Kits rcm87 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 44 08-26-2003 06:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.