Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-27-2009, 12:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
catmel's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Posts: 660
Send a message via AIM to catmel
python for freshwater use only?

Just curious. I was looking to find a easier way to change my water and of course came upon the python. Though, from reading the info it seems like it may be only able to put fresh water back into your tank. Is there a way to hook it up to a saltwater reserve tank / get sw back into the tank for changes or not? Didnt seem so since it was hooked up yo a kitchen sink. Just curious!

I do use a ph for pwc, but getting the bucket into the living room in the first place is a chore!

thanks
__________________

__________________
75 Gallon Saltwater Reef

Just your average LVT (licenced vet tech) trying to help the world's animals!!
- Melinda
catmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:04 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
The end of the python fits onto a standard water hose spigot. We use adapters to create the spigot side of this on the sink. You could just as easily get a pump, like a Mag or soemthing simliar with a threaded outlet and get an adapter from your local hardware store to hook it up with.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 04:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
like neilanh said you can use a pump to pump it back in or move the reserve tank to a higher level then the tank so gravity will feed it.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
catmel's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Posts: 660
Send a message via AIM to catmel
Gotcha. Is there a way to attach an end of the python to the powerhead? Sounds like it. I'm thinking if so and if I got a long enough extention I might be able to put the python in the reserve tank and use the power head to get it into the main.. i'll have to measure to see how far it is. Though i'm not sure with a 150 gph powerhead if it would move fast enough to go that far. Ah well, probably stick with the old fashion method LOL.

Though it sounds like it may be worth it to get one just to empty water out.
__________________
75 Gallon Saltwater Reef

Just your average LVT (licenced vet tech) trying to help the world's animals!!
- Melinda
catmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Python Hyrules General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-21-2006 04:33 PM
Python Fishyfanatic DIY Projects 9 01-18-2006 07:02 PM
Python! MarkW19 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 11-22-2005 03:24 PM
Python kansaschick08 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-13-2005 09:23 PM
Python Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-20-2004 08:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.