Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2011, 09:20 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
I have both the Python and the Aqueon. I wrote a comparison on my blog last week:
__________________

__________________
spkehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:13 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JesseMessykinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wells Tannery, PA
Posts: 409
I used to have a Python, I got at walmart for like 30 Bucks... then later they doubled the price. Lost It since then. They a wonder tool for water changes. What normaly takes 20 mins take 5 with that thing. I Def need another one sooner or later. If you looking to get one, dont let grass grow under your feet... Really.
__________________

__________________
JesseMessykinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:15 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
When my Python broke I bought the Aqueon. I find it easier to hook up, but slower in siphoning water. As I have a SW tank and don't vacuum the sand the extra time doesn't bother me at all. I just wait till water gets down to my mark on the side of the tank and then remove the hose from the tank.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JesseMessykinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wells Tannery, PA
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMac View Post
Would these work with a tank in the basement? I'd have to get long enough hose to run from the kitchen down to te basement but will it lose suction from that distance?
Im sure it wont if you have the water running which makes the syphon to start.

Edit: Even if you have a water fauset in you basement it would hook to that.
__________________
JesseMessykinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:29 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CraigMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 600
I don't have a water faucet in the basement so I'd have to the hose up to my kitchen. Do you think I would still get good suction?
__________________
CraigMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:23 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Doubtful that you would create enough suction to bring the water up six feet or so.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:32 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d
Doubtful that you would create enough suction to bring the water up six feet or so.
x2 there's way too much friction loss with such a small diameter hose and the faucet just doesn't create enough draft to pull water.

Probably take forever...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:54 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
fivty1fivty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hacienda Heights
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
I use the python at home and at the shop, it's a great water changer. Mine is starting to come apart though so I will need to replace the piece that goes onto the faucet.

I think all of the different brands are basically the same but I'm not sure. One thing I do know is that once you get one you'll wonder why you didn't get it sooner.

On a side note, can you hook a regular water hose up to the faucet piece on the aqueon water changer? With the Python it just screws right on.
I've hooked the aqueon setup to a regular garden hose successfully. I used a regular siphon I've had and then bought the faucet connection for about 12 bucks from petsmart. You will have to utilize the aqueon connections and cut off the connections that are in the garden hose. the threading is not the same. Connect using the 'slip' connection provided in the aqueon faucet connection. For the siphon (in the tank) side slide the hose over the tip. When filling, remove the siphon and let the water flow through. The siphon works one way and will not water through. Total setup around 30 bucks. Aqueon products about 15 bucks.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111220_184351.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	66444



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111220_184351.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	66444
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111220_184550.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	66445   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111220_184644.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	66446  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111220_184726.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	66447  
__________________

__________________
fivty1fivty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.