Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2005, 06:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Python no spill. Getting the balance right.

I recieved my python no spill a few days ago and it was too short!

Instead of sending it back and paying double the amount for too much i decided to add some hose and extend it myself. It works, dosent spill and saved me money!

Anyway... I was cleaning my gravel with it and doing a thorough job then i noticed how rapidly the water level drops.

Only thing is.. I dont want to add untreated water to my tank.
I should just top up the water level when it gets a bit low but..

1. I dont know what temp the water will be. And
2. Its unreated.

I thought that i just flick the switch and top upp the water and work out how much treatment is needed for the amount put back in. Although this seems a bit unnaccurate for my liking.
__________________

__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
As for a pwc add some treatment to the tank before you put the water back in and you'll be fine. Good dechlorinator like Seachem Prime will treat your water on contact. You can test first how the water temp is and change it if necessary. A little bit of colder water doesn't harm your fish. In fact some fish even seem to like a cooler shower.

To just to off water that evaporated I don't use dechlorinator most times. If you want to use some with that small amount you can either put some dechlor in before or after you add the water. It won't really matter.
__________________

__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Oh right. And if the amount of treatment is slightly over or under the reccomended dose will it matter?

I do have a general idea of how much to put in because a 1/3 pwc takes about 3 buckets of water to fill the tank again.
__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
A little extra prime will not hurt. Some people that use pythons for water chnges, add enough to dose the whole tank. I think you would have to use a lot of dechlor to hurt your tank.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
That little difference doesn't matter. Like I said, I always top off without even adding anything. But if you want to be on the really safe side, you can add SLIGHTLY more, too. I don't think anybody really sits down and calculates the exact amount.
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Quote:
I don't think anybody really sits down and calculates the exact amount.
Lol. Yeah i should think not too. How long can the water be too cool for the fish before it does any harm?
__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 09:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
If you try to get it about right it'll be fine. Don't just add ice cold water or really hot stuff.
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 09:24 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
The water will be pretty cold. Thats my main worry.

It has to run off an outside tap (whilst i am fixing the inside one to fit)
and the water is cold. Especially this time of year in England when its roughly 0-10 degrees outside.

I wouldnt say the water is "ice cold" but its not a pleasant temp put it that way.

Im hoping my heater will heat it up quickly. Should i turn the heater up for about 5 minutes, then back to the regular temp i always have?
__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:18 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 80
Quote:
Im hoping my heater will heat it up quickly. Should i turn the heater up for about 5 minutes, then back to the regular temp i always have?
I'd say no. That would actually be a worse shock to the fish to get them warm and toasty and then, bam, cold water. One option is to turn the faucet to a trickle and let it take 15+ minutes to refill a couple gallons...
__________________
imahawki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 11:16 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Oh right. Yeah that sounds like a good option to take
Quote:
One option is to turn the faucet to a trickle and let it take 15+ minutes to refill a couple gallons...
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bala, python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Python No-Spill Alshain General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-11-2006 11:32 PM
Python No Spill zach_fresh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-05-2005 10:02 PM
python no spill for 10 gallon? ringfinger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 29 03-01-2005 12:10 AM
Python no spill issues oldshell4481 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-28-2005 08:27 PM
Python No Spill-where is the best deal? myriam Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 10-01-2003 01:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.