Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2006, 09:39 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
I have chloramines in my tap water. I use AquaPlus to treat the tank as the python is filling. I have tried doing this at the beginning of fill and at the end and there hasn't been a negative effect at all.

There are aquarists out there who hold on to established methods no matter whether new methods work or not. I have associates that use corner and box filters on large tanks and they constantly ask why I wasted money on a canister.

I will say that your LFS person's statement that the python may not work is not exactly accurate. One wrong move can be disastrous.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:53 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
For the Python syphoning issue, I discovered quite by accident that I could in fact, increase the suction a bit. The "problem" was literally at the tap. The part that goes on the water spicket isn't supposed to be "rotatable". That is, when mounted, the part should not easily rotate to accomodate the direction the hose is coming from. If it does, then its loose and is leaking air which, of course, reduces the suction. You need to tighten it up so it doesn't spin. Once I got that, I was able to get some good gravel agitation going. Still the nozzel is to big to fit in some areas of the tank without moving plants and decorations.
__________________

__________________
dont155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 03:43 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: dayton, oh
Posts: 267
A little OT, but I think it's interesting that water treatments just have a standard dose. I would assume that this is a worst-case scenario. After all, some cities have to have more chlorine than others, and these guys are in the business of selling product.

Perhaps I'll do some tests to see exactly how much it actually takes with my water. I'd be surprised if it was actually more than 1/2 the recommendation.
__________________
Tostada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 09:52 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 425
Send a message via MSN to ringfinger
I have been using the python for over a year now, always adding half the dosage at the beginning of the fill and half on completion. Haven't noticed any negative effects.
__________________
ringfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 10:04 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 158
I don't use a python, but I do have 2 separate hoses, 1 for draining my 35 gallon can I siphon into, and 1 for filling. This way I can fill & drain 2 tanks at once. I have never had a problem with adding Prime before, during, or after filling.

I've tried 50% wc's without adding dechlor for a couple of hours on a 20 gallon, trying to see if the chlorine & chloramine would have any affect on the fish or bio filtration. The 40 dime size angels were fine, and it had no affect on the bio filtration. I got tired of keeping an eye on the tank after 2 hours. There has been a bit of an experiment/debate on another forum as to weather dechlor is actually necessary in a mature tank, I could post a link if forum rules allow this

My main concern with a python is cross contamination between tanks. You are letting the dirty water from one tank come in contact with the clean water when filling another. This is the main reason I use separate drain hoses for my tanks, and don't drill them & go with a central filtration system.
__________________
Tolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:40 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
I only use Prime, and a Python here. You can go the extra mile and treat the water first, but if you have a large tank, or many tanks, it's more work than it's worth. I could see myself trying to do the trash can thing with 6 tanks, lol. No way I'm doing that when the Python does just fine. And no ill-effects to any fish, including my GBR's.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 11:40 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 122
I always mix my water first but that's because I got fairly lucky on house design. My tanks are all in the Den which is actually mostly underground. The tap outside also has an external power point for a security light. I have a garbage bin which I can fill and even sitting on the ground it is higher then the tank. When I fill it I leave the hose in it (So it stays full off water. Treat it and let a powerhead with venturi pump it for about an hour. Once the tank is siphoned I just unclip the house from the tap and pass it through the window into the tank. The siphon starts itself and off it goes.

It's a great system and needs the minumim of effort. That being said, I don't think it's neccesary and pythons sounds like they work just fine, the only problem would be small amounts of chlorine still getting into your biofilter but this would probably be very minor.

I am, however, a firm believer that if you can do 10 things 5% better, your tank will be much, much better.
__________________
SkullJug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 04:38 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolak
My main concern with a python is cross contamination between tanks. You are letting the dirty water from one tank come in contact with the clean water when filling another. This is the main reason I use separate drain hoses for my tanks, and don't drill them & go with a central filtration system.
Unless you have drastically different water conditions in your two tanks, why would this be an issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolak
There has been a bit of an experiment/debate on another forum as to weather dechlor is actually necessary in a mature tank...
What? Every time you are adding water, you are adding clorine and chloramines (assuming they are in your local water system, which they are in most places). Maturity of the tank has nothing to do with it.
__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 05:48 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosk1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolak
My main concern with a python is cross contamination between tanks. You are letting the dirty water from one tank come in contact with the clean water when filling another. This is the main reason I use separate drain hoses for my tanks, and don't drill them & go with a central filtration system.
Unless you have drastically different water conditions in your two tanks, why would this be an issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolak
There has been a bit of an experiment/debate on another forum as to weather dechlor is actually necessary in a mature tank...
What? Every time you are adding water, you are adding clorine and chloramines (assuming they are in your local water system, which they are in most places). Maturity of the tank has nothing to do with it.
Now how would you cross-contaminate if the last thing you did with the first tank is fill it up. So that means, the water currently in the hose is tap water, correct? And if worried about the gravel vac, can always rinse it off before doing the next tank. So I agree with bosk that it's not an issue.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 05:56 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolfblue
I agree with bosk
Well, see, but that's just because you're brilliant.
__________________

__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Python?? motherspice Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-26-2008 05:30 PM
python question cogburn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-25-2008 09:17 PM
question about Python Jwern07 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-16-2008 07:56 PM
Python question coldmachineUK Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-06-2006 04:16 PM
Python Question CaptnIgnit Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-09-2006 10:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.