Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2011, 05:09 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Sw is still stuck with buckets. LOL
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
... Crap. I feel bad for the people with 200 gal aquariums that are saltwater. That is a lot of bucket hauling.
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:16 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
Well, the trade-off is that Saltwater tanks can be fitted with a combination of a Sump, Refugium, and/or Protein Skimmer - combined with all that Live Rock - that eats up Nitrates.

So a well-operated Saltwater tank usually won't need water changes as often as a comparable Freshwater tank.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:21 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
How many times do you think it would need? I will have a sump, live rock, protein skimmer, and a refugium in a 30 gal with a 10 gal sump.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:47 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
firteen888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
Quote:
It comes in 25 and 50 foot lengths. Its the best $30 youll spend I promise. LOL
Hi carey,

Where have you found this for $30? I've been looking online and only see it for around $70.

Thanks,
__________________
firteen888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:53 PM   #16
member

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 132
I use the Aqueon version of a python and absolutely love it. Here's a link for it on Amazon, Amazon.com: Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer: Kitchen & Dining, pretty good price in my opinion.
__________________
mfergusonjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:56 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, I got mine from amazon too. Its the same as above, the aqueon changer. Same concept but cheaper.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:25 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
firteen888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
Cool, I just bought it. Thanks!
__________________
firteen888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 09:07 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i use this device handy little tool i just hook to my kitchen sink and take the water out of my sump for my pwc and pour the premixed ro water back in
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BldrArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 65
Thanks for this info. Was just doing a forum search looking at whether or not to get a Python and it looks like I've got my answer.

So, does the Aqueon come with instructions ! LOL! Because I'm not sure I followed all that...(especially the part about turning on the water when you siphon to clean??) I think I read that wrong.

ETA: LOL! Just saw a video. I get it now.
__________________

__________________
What was going to be a simple 5 gallon for a betta instead turned into our 1st tank:
20 gal | Fishless cycle complete!
Fishless Cycling for Dummies | Fishless Cycling FAQ
BldrArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
python no spill syphon steeledarren Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-23-2011 06:33 PM
Lifereef Syphon David S General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-25-2010 08:23 AM
Syphon question peterac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-12-2005 10:46 PM
Using a syphon in planted tanks?? Quake2player Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 02-23-2005 11:32 AM
sump,syphon,flood? Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-20-2004 09:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.