Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2011, 04:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Python syphon?

I have heard great reviews about this product and was wondering how it works and if it would suit my needs. I have a 30 gallon in my bedroom and a full bathroom that's about 20 ft away. Could it work?
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
It comes in 25 and 50 foot lengths. Its the best $30 youll spend I promise. LOL
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
K I will buy it but how does it work?
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
itsgracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,209
+1

I love my python! You just hook it up on your faucet. There is a switch (twist) to put it either drain or fill. I drain the water, put dechlorinator for the whole tank (in my case 3 mL of Prime for my 29 gallon) and then fill it up.
__________________
"Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo
itsgracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
I would recommend investigating your bathroom faucet first.

1. The mesh thing (aerator) that screws into the faucet needs to be able to be unscrewed, otherwise you're going to need some additional parts to be able to attach the python.

2. The adapter for the Python is about 7 inches tall, so if you're going to be running it from a sink then the sink cannot be very shallow or the Python output wont fit into it.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
So you put it in the aquarium first? I would be doing it for pwc's.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Alright I will check. But can it connect to a bathtub faucet?
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
itsgracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,209
+1 on Vircomore's post

I can't use my kitchen sink because there are no threads on it whatsoever. It has that hose shower thing. So I use my bathroom sink. You need to take off the aerator/filter attachment to expose the threads. Some faucet has outside threads and some has inside threads and both will be accomodated by the python.

Your sink should also be deep enough that you can fit the attachment. My sink can fit the attachment but when draining I have to watch the water going down the sink because its not deep enough that if the water is flowing too fast, it can overflow.

Here is what I do when I PWC:

1. Attach Python to the faucet.
2. Put the syphon end in the aquarium (make sure the switch is to drain and that the syphone is closed [there is a switch to turn suction on/off]). This is also the time I turn everything (heater, filter, etc.) off.
3. Turn water on water all the way.
4. Switch suction to on and start vacuuming gravel. Drain water (I do 50%).
5. Turn suction switch off and faucet water off.
6. Put in dechlorinator for the whole tank volume (e.g. mines is 29 gallon so I put enough dechlorinator for a 29 gallon)
7. Turn faucet water on and adjust water temp to temp of aquarium water (I use my hand to tell).
8. Twist the python attachment to FILL.
9. Turn suction (in this case opening for filling of water) on. And fill it up.
10. Once filled up, I turn faucet water off, detach the python and put it away.
11. Turn everything back on and make sure your filter is not running dry.
__________________
"Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo
itsgracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
So dechlor doesn't need to be added to the water going in, just the tank? I didn't know that. And how would you do saltwater?
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
You could use the Python to take water OUT of a saltwater tank - but to add water back to a saltwater tank you'll need to pre-mix the salt into the water before it reaches the tank, so there's no way to use the Python unless you assemble your own pump setup that you can screw the python to.

The Python is designed to run water from out of your faucet, which is no good for Saltwater tanks.
__________________

__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
python no spill syphon steeledarren Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-23-2011 06:33 PM
Lifereef Syphon David S General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-25-2010 08:23 AM
Syphon question peterac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-12-2005 10:46 PM
Using a syphon in planted tanks?? Quake2player Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 02-23-2005 11:32 AM
sump,syphon,flood? Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-20-2004 09:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.