Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-03-2006, 05:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
QT Tank Set up (For new fish)

Can you tell me what you use for a QT set up? I have the following:
-heater
-Via Aqua pump (small for circulation)
- 2 x HOB filter (use biowheel for bacteria growth)
-10-12 big peiced of PVC for bacteria growth

I normally soak a large peice of spounge in my sump for 2-3 weeks before I start my QT Tank. In the past I have added only 1-2 small fish after letting the QT system run for about 3-4 days. I have added the fish in the past and had major issues with it starting to cycle. What am I doing wrong? I really had issues when I set up my QT for my main tank that had ick. I had 4 fish in the 30 Gallon QT and had to do 2 water changes per day just to keep the fish alive as the ammonia was climbing every day. And no I didnt feed a lot.
Do you use the HOB biowheel? What would be causing my QT to cycle? Please post any suggestions. I have read where most people on here run their QT tanks very easily and low maintance.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 06:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
I'm only runing freshwater now, but I use a simple sponge filter with a good air pump, and a heater. I cycled it fishless using the "feed invisible fish" method. I do have problems with ammonia/nitrite spikes when I medicate the tank, most medicines are harsher on your biocycle than they claim to be.

When empty, I add a pinch of food at least once a week to keep the bacteria alive in there.

How large is your QT?
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 06:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
The QT is a 30G long. I had problems whether I medicate the tank or not...I am thinking that the HOB bio wheels are collecting gunk and messing up my water parameters. Or it could be the spounge from my sump...once you put the fish in the QT tank, do you leave the spounge in there?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 07:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
All QT tanks have NH3 and NO2 issues. Poly filters and regular WC's is the best way to lower levels. additives like prime and amquil also help in extreme cases.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Maybe that's another diffrence between saltwater and freshwater. I don't have NH3 or NO2 issues in the QT. I get plenty of nitrate, since I don't have any plants up there. Regular water changes keeps that down.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new fish, qt tank, set up, tan, tank set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QT Tank Set up (For new fish) fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 04-15-2006 02:27 PM
QT Tank Set up (For new fish) fishman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 01-27-2006 10:28 AM
do you think i should set up a feeder fish tank? cichlid555 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 05-11-2005 01:09 AM
Question about set-up for fish only tank..... AnnnetteM Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-27-2005 03:47 AM
fish selection and tank set up. wxboilermaker Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-06-2004 10:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.