Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-28-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
selvan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 59
Quarantine Tank

HI,

The below measures 9.2"L x 5.4"W x 6.2"T and holds about 1.33 gallons. What do you think of it as a QT tank to house just 1 or 2 new fish no more than 1" long each at most for at least for 2 weeks to observe for the unwanted before joining the community. Perhaps even a Hosp tank.

I'd hang it inside, plant it with Anacharis clippings floating & weighted down, fill it with new water using API TWC, add a couple drops of Nutrafin Cycle, & vacuum the bottom while doing 75% a pwc daily.

I've searched around in here and the smallest one I read about being used was a 2.5 gallon. But I really don't want to have to deal with a second tank, heater & hob in the shelf with it's bio bag in the main ready to go. Unless, of course, I have to. Like quarantining new fish definitely is!

Is it doable? I think of Killer Whale's in amusement parks for comparison?

__________________

__________________
20 gallon long est. Oct '09 Folsom, CA.
Flora: 10% Duckweed, Amazon Swords, Java Fern, Java Moss, Anacharis & Anubias.
Fauna: 18 Cardinals, 8 Pygmy Corys, 6 male Endlers, 3 Otos, & 3 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: AquaClear 50 with foam, fiber, & 2 biomax bags
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Definitely not advisable. The fish need some room to swim not to mention the parameters are going to change to rapidly. Get your self a 10 gallon and call it a day.
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
Agree that the size is to small.
The qt tank doesn't have to be a tank. A simple rubbermaid tote or similar would be fine.
__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim692 View Post
Agree that the size is to small.
The qt tank doesn't have to be a tank. A simple rubbermaid tote or similar would be fine.
True, but make sure it's food safe or you risk chemicals leaching from the plastic into the water.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 11:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
i refuse to put any fish in a tank smaller than 10g, even just for a couple weeks...
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 12:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
selvan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 59
Okay, settled, a 10 gallon aquarium it is.
__________________
20 gallon long est. Oct '09 Folsom, CA.
Flora: 10% Duckweed, Amazon Swords, Java Fern, Java Moss, Anacharis & Anubias.
Fauna: 18 Cardinals, 8 Pygmy Corys, 6 male Endlers, 3 Otos, & 3 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: AquaClear 50 with foam, fiber, & 2 biomax bags
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 12:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
selvan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 59
Will keeping the biomax bag on the substrate of the main aquarium be sufficient to seed and keep active after a month? I have no space in the HOB.

I have an AquaClear 20, will it provide enough surface disturbance for air or will I need to bleed off my existing air pump temporarily? Not a big deal.

I'll need a separate heater and I'll use black paper under the aquarium to substitute the lack of gravel. Hopefully I'll find a deal on Craigslist soon with a lid and light hood.

Thanks
__________________
20 gallon long est. Oct '09 Folsom, CA.
Flora: 10% Duckweed, Amazon Swords, Java Fern, Java Moss, Anacharis & Anubias.
Fauna: 18 Cardinals, 8 Pygmy Corys, 6 male Endlers, 3 Otos, & 3 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: AquaClear 50 with foam, fiber, & 2 biomax bags
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
selvan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 59
Well, I don't like what I see out there for 10 gallon tank setups. I can get it for $30 (not very cheap) and it comes with a black plastic lid where 2 incandescent bulbs are exposed to any water evaporation. I don't like that at all. I could go with a bare tank for $14 but a lid with a covered fluorescent bulb runs $30. All this excluding the heater I'll also need.

What if I use one of the 5gal buckets I use for water changes? Would that be enough space? Then all I'd need is the heater. The only draw back is that I can't really observe the fish but only from the top.

What about the 2 questions in the previous post guys/gals?

Thanks
__________________
20 gallon long est. Oct '09 Folsom, CA.
Flora: 10% Duckweed, Amazon Swords, Java Fern, Java Moss, Anacharis & Anubias.
Fauna: 18 Cardinals, 8 Pygmy Corys, 6 male Endlers, 3 Otos, & 3 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: AquaClear 50 with foam, fiber, & 2 biomax bags
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 04:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
those things rock i have a bunch of them but not for a qt.

check craigslist for a cheap 10 gallon set up.

ac 20 is fine for a 10 gallon. what i would do is run the ac 20 on the 20 gallon until you need it. when it comes time to qt a sick/new fish you just move the filter over.

i wouldnt use a bucket.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 11:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
selvan777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Folsom, CA. US
Posts: 59
Okay, the bucket's out than.

Have you ever had a bulb blow over the water?
Have you run yours with either an hob or air stone?

I'm worried it will blow if I use it with the ac20 and/or just an air stone, they both create evaporation in my tank.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon long est. Oct '09 Folsom, CA.
Flora: 10% Duckweed, Amazon Swords, Java Fern, Java Moss, Anacharis & Anubias.
Fauna: 18 Cardinals, 8 Pygmy Corys, 6 male Endlers, 3 Otos, & 3 Ghost Shrimp
Filter: AquaClear 50 with foam, fiber, & 2 biomax bags
selvan777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine Tank brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-13-2008 10:09 PM
Quarantine Tank faerykisses General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-22-2005 02:07 PM
Quarantine tank DiverDown General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-15-2005 11:39 AM
Quarantine Tank Ximat Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 14 02-13-2005 02:15 PM
Quarantine tank? acid_burn Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 03-18-2004 07:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.