Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2012, 11:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Quarantine Tank

Was thinking of setting up a small quarintine tank at the same time as setting up a 75 gallon cichlid tank. Was wondering how many of you use a quarantine tank, and if so was it worth the investment?
__________________

__________________
pixelfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelfinger View Post
Was thinking of setting up a small quarintine tank at the same time as setting up a 75 gallon cichlid tank. Was wondering how many of you use a quarantine tank, and if so was it worth the investment?
OK this is close to home for me. I had my 72 bowfront fully stocked less one fish I was about to buy when I began to loose fish rapidly over 3 days. Marine ich was the culprit. I lost 7 fish.

My 72 is setting fallow now for at least 45 days to complete the life cycle of the parasite for it to die out. I have a bristletooth tang in my new QT tank. I will never place stock in my DT that has not been in QT again. The cost of the loss not considering the mental stress was about 300.00. All corals will be dipped before placing in the DT.

I spent 50.00 on a new 20 gal long. I had a HOB filter and nano stream pump and 24 inch T5 light twin bulb. I also had a spare heater. It was a minimum investment compared to the loss and frustration. You can approach it as insurance. It will not guarantee nothing will happen but will minimize the chance of introducing bad stuff to other stock. It also will allow you to treat rapidly without more stress from removing stock from your DT and placing in QT. 6 weeks is what I QT fish for. I keep a full compliment of meds on hand, a copper product, another parasite and worm product, coral dip, and prime to stabilize the QT in case of rapid amonia and nitrite build up. I keep a biological filter running and that way it is always ready. It is bare bottom with a ceramic coffee mug and a piece of PVC pipe for fish hiding.
__________________

__________________
ShooterRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 03:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
I have a 40g breeder tank that I used as a QT(not hospital tank). Worth the money. You can observe your newly acquired fish for a few weeks(minimum of 4 weeks for me) and be sure that they are 100% parasite free before adding to your DT. I treat my newly acquired fish with potassium permanganate for gill flukes and praziquantel for tapeworms as a precautionary measure. Just to play safe. Better safe than sorry. I learned my lesson a while ago not quarantining new fish. The frustration of treating the whole display tank and dealing with the losses. I was also told to put your "least" favorite fish in the QT with the new fish to see if it will get sick from the new fish and vice versa.
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:26 AM   #4
Daphnia are People Too.
Community Moderator
 
absolutangel04's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 8,876
Absolutely, definitely worth the money. Without a qt of some sort, plenty of people I know have lost lots of money by accidentally introducing a sick fish into their community. Also, if you ever get a sick or injured fish, you can use your qt as a hospital tank.
__________________
Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, but thankfully they both led to fish stores.
absolutangel04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Not QTing is the most overlooked and missed step in the hobby IMO..
Why anyone wouldn't do it is still beyond me
Like shooter ,i learned the hard way too..This was before i knew about forums and internet sites devoted to the hobby..
__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
without a doubt and absolute necessity
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:41 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 221
Let me say this and I do not want to offend anyone. Regardless of what your LFS tells you, no LFS can afford to QT fish long enoeph. What I have found is even the most reputable LFS will only hold stock in QT 2 weeks and they will tell you that is what they do. If a LFS tells you they QT all their stock they are not telling you the WHOLE truth!
__________________
ShooterRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Well then it's settled I will definitely set up a quarantine tank. The only question now is what size. Like I said I want to setup a 75 gallon African cichlid tank. Would you all recommend a 20 gallon qt tank or a 10 gallon? Also would you recommend having a qt running constantly or just when I need it and just keeping a filter in the Display tank that I can move when I need it, and obviously throwing away when done.
__________________
pixelfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelfinger View Post
Well then it's settled I will definitely set up a quarantine tank. The only question now is what size. Like I said I want to setup a 75 gallon African cichlid tank. Would you all recommend a 20 gallon qt tank or a 10 gallon? Also would you recommend having a qt running constantly or just when I need it and just keeping a filter in the Display tank that I can move when I need it, and obviously throwing away when done.
Well I am servicing a 72 bowfront reef tank. I am using a 20 gal long. I don't see needing bigger but smaller would limit me I think as many marine fish need ample room to move about and be happy.

As to the filter I had a HOB with a biowheel on hand so that is what I am using. I plan on keeping it running all the time. It is not needed all the time but I can toss in a small damsel and keep it going without a problem. If I change my mind I will toss a sponge into my display tanks sump and move it over to the HOB when needed.
__________________
ShooterRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
I'd go with the 20 it gives you more latitude. I keep mine going al the time with 4 striped damsels that way I don't have to worry about cycling it each time.
__________________

__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.