Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Quarantine tanks help!

Ok so recent deaths and sicknesses of both my fw and SW fish has got me thinking its about time I got some quarantine tanks.

For my SW tank I'm planning in having a 5g so I can fit under the stand. Same goes for my freshester is this ok?
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
I was planning on using aqua clear 20's and two heaters what else do I need? Is the media that comes with these filter ok? Or do I need to use different media for SW and fw?

Also when these tanks are not in use do I still have to so water changes?

Any advise would be helpful thanks!
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Is this ok should I add anything. I've also heard you don't add rocks or sand correct?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
I don't have SW, only FW & I don't have space to keep a QT tank set up all of the time so I bought a 10g tank on sale w/ a heater & HOB filter, I set it up while I had new fish to QT, then disassembled it & put it away. My plan was to set up the filter on my 46g tank to keep a seeded filter but I need to get a power strip. I did not have a substrate but I did have some fake plants & a couple cave structures just because I thought the fish need a little something. If you have the tank set up all of the time you will need to add ammonia periodically to keep the BB alive.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.