Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Carbondale, CO
Posts: 7
Question about Aqauripure Nitrate Filter

Greetings! I have never had nitrate problems in the many years I have had a 75G reef tank. However I am now thinking that with a new metal halide light and older live rock, that I might have a nitrate problem that is causing green algae growth that is bad and suppression of coralline algae. Going to ask about this issue on another forum. Ordered a test kit to find out...

Has anyone used the Aquaripure to solve this problem?
__________________

__________________
bgeddes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 10:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
It is best to find the source of the nitrate problem, and fix it. If you havent been testing for nitrates, you have a 50/50 chance of having low to no nitrates or having high to ridiculous nitrates. what filter and substrate do you have?
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 10:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Carbondale, CO
Posts: 7
Thanks for the response. Since I asked the question I have been doing some more research. My substrate is 7+ years old and is probably crushed stuff, can't remember back that far when I first started. Just ordered 80lbs of new active aragonite sand. Have an old Penguin biofilter that seems to be working ok. Also have a SeaClone skimmer. Flow is probably not what it should be, so just ordered two Koralias # 3's.

Thoughts? Thanks again for the help.
__________________
bgeddes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about nitrate filter Kelso Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 02-02-2010 06:52 PM
Do I need a nitrate filter??? deanp88 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 11-21-2009 11:05 AM
NitrAte filter? underdog5004 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-13-2009 11:38 AM
Nitrate filter swflyfish DIY Projects 5 02-29-2008 02:15 PM
Stupid question, but...Nitrite/Nitrate question AIKakashi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-11-2006 12:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.