Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-05-2004, 05:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 18
Question about Fluval 304

I recently bought a 75g tank and it came with the 304. I am new to the hobby and am concerned with the amount of water coming out of the filter. It seems to me it should be coming out with more force than it is now. Can someone give me some idea of how much water is supposed to come out if the outtake hose and with what kind of spray?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
gjw9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 05:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to westward13
I'm relatively new myself but I've got a month-old 75 gallon aquarium as well and have a Fluval 304. The flow of water coming out of it isn't extremely strong and from what I've learned, it probably won't be enough by itself for a 75g. In addition to the Fluval 304, I've got a Penguin Biowheel 330 which I picked up online for about $20. With my Fluval, it's possible to see the current in the water where the flow from the outtake meets up with the glass on the front of my tank (if that helps determine whether there's something wrong with your Fluval).
__________________

__________________
westward13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 05:56 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Correct me if I'm wrong, but my fluval has a control lever....where you can adjust the flow coming out...maybe you need to check that?

Also, what is the GPH on that thing? An adequatley filtered tank should turn over 7 times an hour...so that would me that you should have atleast 525 GPH....

My guess is that you are going to need another filter

HTH
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 18
Control lever

I didn't see a control leveer, can you tell me where it would be located?
__________________
gjw9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:38 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,232
[center:e293399756] Welcome to AA, gjw9!! [/center:e293399756]
I believe it is located near the intake and outflow tubes. What kind of fish are you planning on keeping--this will also help determine the total gph turnover rate you will need.
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 18
I have had the tank running for 4 weeks now and have
6 bloodfin tetras
10 neon tetras
4 marigold wag tail swords
3 giant danios
1 lace cat
1 cory
My next question would be, If I have to move up to a 404, how do I set up the new filter when the old filter has the bacteria I need in it already? I don't want to lose the fish I have.

GAry
__________________
gjw9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:53 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,232
You can put the old media (with bacteria) in the new filter and avoid going throught the cycle again.
For those fish, 6x gph would be fine.
BTW--cories prefer to be in groups of 3+ and you certainly have room for them
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
Why not use both filters? You can never have enough filtration.
__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 09:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 18
One last question

The foam of a 304 wont fit in the 404 but if I change the other media to the 404 you think I'll be alright?
I really appreciate your advice and look forward to your answer to my latest question.

Thanks,
Gary
__________________
gjw9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 1,728
Send a message via Yahoo to deli_conker
Quote:
The foam of a 304 wont fit in the 404 but if I change the other media to the 404 you think I'll be alright
That will be fine.

I have a 304 on my 55 gal and always have the flow turned all the way up. If I'm ever worried about too much or not enough current I'll just turn the return nozzle toward the side of the tank and kinda bounce it off the wall.

I think a 304 is rated for up 70 gal tanks or something. With the light load that you have it would suffice. But like somebody said earlier, you can never have enough filtration...
__________________

__________________
deli_conker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with fluval 304 alex_g General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-06-2009 04:51 PM
Going Insaine Fluval 304 JMercer Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 09-23-2008 12:13 AM
Fluval 304 pitt420dude General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 04-22-2008 09:25 PM
Fluval 304 maintenance. sdveirs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-11-2006 11:46 AM
fluval 304 tbrock General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-31-2005 05:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.