Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2011, 12:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 114
Question about plumbing... how can I route my hoses?

I have a canister and the instructions say that I can have some slack but I should not have any loops or sags.

I don't know why.

I don't have enough space for a heater and in-line CO2 if I run the tubing straight from the canister to the bank.

(See attachment)

Do you see a reason why I can't or shouldn't do this? (Have the tube come out from the top of the canister, go down and then back up).

The heater has to be upright (it can't lay on it's side because that would be too easy).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	filter.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	249.3 KB
ID:	42119  
__________________

__________________
Gnarls Gnarlington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Having longer tubing and bends up then down will reduce the flow rate of the canister, I recommend a straight shot down for better performance.
__________________

__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 02:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
The impeller doesn't have enough power to move the water up and down like that. They even have limitations on the total rise of the ins/outs.

You could always cut the tubing per your drawing and try it and if it doesn't work, then shorten them to eliminate the loop. I've also heard you need to get extra fluval hose ends to install the inline heater, since the ribbed tubing won't seal without them.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hose, plumbing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May be a dumb question BostonRedSox Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 45 04-03-2012 09:46 AM
Aggression question Boomer2244 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-30-2011 03:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.