Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2005, 03:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 49
Question about power head placement

I know that some of you have played with power head placement to get the best flow with minimal dead spots. I'll be getting 2 - Maxi-jet PH900's (one for each of my 29 gallon tanks) in a couple of days. I want to place them in the right spot.

Where in your experience would be the best place to put them in my tanks to avoid dead spots? Here's kind of a crappy example of where my filter and heater are in the tank. Never mind the pic, it's not my tank. It's just to give you a general idea of my tank setup.



Nate
__________________

__________________
My other money pit...er...hobby is a Turbo Saturn.
NateNBeckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 04:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Augustine/Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 648
Send a message via Yahoo to Florida8
Hi Nate. I had a 55g reef with 2 power heads placed in the back corners of each end. I had the flat movable flow direction piece placed to blow one in the back against the glass, mainly across the wall and the other across the front glass and it kept my flow great. I didn't have a lot of corals etc... that might have required different directional flows... just fish, lr and shrooms and polyps. When I did my water changes I sometimes swapped the direction of each BTW.

Kimberly
__________________

__________________
Kimberly in NE Florida
*******
Cycle complete Early 2-06
29g reef
2 ph and 1 HOB =460 gph
130watt Orbit lighting system
50+lbs lr
1 blue green chromis, domino, blue devil
6 turbo snails
1 mantis GRRRR!
Florida8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 04:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 49
Well, since we've been flat broke lately, I won't be able to get 2 more PH for each tank yet. I know it would help immensely though. I was lucky to be able to get these 2.

With 1 PH though, would it be best to place it on the front left corner blowing acorss to the right rear corner, a few inches off the substrate? It seems that would be best for avoiding dead spots. Maybe I'm crazy.

Nate
__________________
My other money pit...er...hobby is a Turbo Saturn.
NateNBeckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 05:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Augustine/Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 648
Send a message via Yahoo to Florida8
Sorry, was multi tasking with a newborn and didn't read your post as well as I thought

Do you have a return from a sump or other filter? If so, place the new ph at the opposite end play with it going at the front and back and see which way gives you the most flow around what you have in your tank,lr etc... I think you will be fine with 1ph for now with them being 29g each...I had one power head and a return fromthe sump on my 55g for quite some time and only added another when I got my LR built up.

Also, walmart has some for under $10 or $15 bucks if you absolutely need to add flow after you get them. I have bought one... it worked great and still does

Kimberly
__________________
Kimberly in NE Florida
*******
Cycle complete Early 2-06
29g reef
2 ph and 1 HOB =460 gph
130watt Orbit lighting system
50+lbs lr
1 blue green chromis, domino, blue devil
6 turbo snails
1 mantis GRRRR!
Florida8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 05:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 49
Ok, thanks.

I don't have a sump or anything. I'm using a Bio-wheel 150 in one, and a 125 in the other. I wish I could ditch the 125 because it seems grossly inadequate compared to the 150.

Yeah, the 230 GPH the PH900's put out seem to be more than what I need for the 29g, but I figured since I will only have 1 pump in there it wouldn't hurt to have some extra flow.

Oh, and congrats on the newborn. My wife and I have an 8 month old and a 2 year old. My 6 year old is staying with us for the summer as well, so I know how things can get hectic.

Nate
__________________
My other money pit...er...hobby is a Turbo Saturn.
NateNBeckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power head

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Head placement HappyHooligan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 11-05-2009 02:24 PM
Question about a Power Head Andos99 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-28-2005 03:37 PM
Power head placement saberry Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-02-2004 12:45 AM
Power Head Placement kwan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 04-15-2004 10:20 AM
power head placement stumpy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-03-2004 11:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.