Questions on lighting and substrate for nature aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

draX

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi

I need a little help with a nature aquarium I am trying to put together. I live in South Africa, and I'm having problems getting the equipment and substrate I need. I am still a novice with aquariums, I have only ever had one 24g tank. I have now got another tank, its 35x13x15 inches, about 29g. I am trying to make a very simple nature aquarium based on a picture a friend sent me (I'll try and add it in the post). I am having trouble finding the carpet plants (glossostigma or riccia). I am also having trouble finding out what lighting would be adequate. I can apparently only fit 20 or 30W tubes into the tank. Would two 20W tubes be enough? I was also looking for substrate such as Eco-Complete or Fluorite. I can't get either of these in south africa. What kind of substrate can I use? I have some nice black gravel, but what else would I need to make the plants grow?

Thanks

Hi draX,

I'll try to help to the best of my knowledge. I'm no plant expert but I'll try. Glosso is a hard plant to grow it needs around 3 wpg to grow and with that amount of light you'll need CO2 injection. 29 x 3 = 87 So you could put 4 20W tubes on it or 3 30W tubes or a combination of both. You can use laterite instead of Eco-complete. You would put down a layer of peat moss on the very bottom then laterite then your gravel. The laterite will supply the plants with iron. You might need some ferts such as Flourish. Rex Griggs FAQ has some good info. HTH.