Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2005, 12:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 65
Quiet filter for my 55g and 10g?

I am looking to have a second 10 gallon tank for holding purposes. i would like to have a filter that can work on my 55g when the 10 is not being used. What is a quiet, affordable filter that would work?
__________________

__________________
manoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 12:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
You looking for something that could run the 55 by itself, or in conjunction with the normal filter in that tank?
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 05:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 65
conjunction, i already have a cascade 1000 running...

Also, if i take some gravel and water from the 55 then it should already be cycled right?
__________________
manoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 07:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
You may want to consider something simple like a powerhead with a sponge over the inlet. A bit quieter than the air driven sponge, but you won't have to worry about it fitting over the edge of the 55, or overpowering the 10 gallon.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 08:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 65
can you provide a link to a good one?
__________________
manoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 65
How does a powerhead work? Doesnt it require an underground filter of some sort? I just want some kind of filter that i can take from the 55 and put on the 10. So, all that is on the ten is a light and the filter. I dont see where a powerhead's bacteria grows...
__________________
manoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to LAGlocker Send a message via Yahoo to LAGlocker
No, powerheads dont require a ugf, its the other way around. powerheads can run by themselves to provide a current a little filtration with a sponge or some other type of filter media attached to it. as far as switching the filters you can look at some of the smaller hob filters that might fit on the 10 gal. i think aquaclear makes one that would be small enough.
__________________
Live in or around Alabama? Why dont you check out the Alabama Regional Forum.

Sold all tanks but
29 gal planted(lightly) tank now with 10 neons, 9 serpae tetras, 4 otos, 2 kribs and 3 gourami for the moment.
LAGlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
An aquaclear mini would do what you want. I have one for the very same purpose you are looking for.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 10:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 65
http://bigalsonline.com/catalog/prod...tegory_id=2281

so something like this Aquaclear 30 Power Filter would do the job? I would prefer a powerhead if it shoots water better then this filter, but how do you attach a sponge to a powerhead? Sorry I am powerhead stupid...
__________________
manoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 11:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Will the aquaclear mini fit over the bracing on the 55 gallon? I know my aquaclear won't fit on my 75 gallon.

A random sponge filter that will work with a powerhead:
http://www.aquaticeco.com/index.cfm/.../4927/cid/1340

Powerhead:
http://www.aquaticeco.com/index.cfm/.../8739/cid/2148

Check out your local fish store, any small internal filter should do, and they should have something cheaper than the above option.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a quiet filter jts15 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-13-2009 07:37 PM
The 10g experimental tank instead of the 55g frostby Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-08-2006 03:26 PM
what to do with my 55g, 10g and 2g mumrah Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-06-2005 03:52 PM
Wanted: Quiet, affordable, 10 gal (or more) filter. sugarloves General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 11-07-2004 09:37 AM
Quiet one pump not so quiet anymore BBReef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-19-2004 12:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.