Rant: I HATE AquaClear filters!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

abrage22

Aquarium Advice Freak
Tonight's incident has pretty much put me over the edge on these filters...
Long story short, I'm a college student and live about 25 minutes from home in a dorm. I get a text from my dad saying how the filter is getting water everywhere and is "not working right".

The problem was (and it has happened multiple times in the past) is that the whole media basket gets 'pushed up' from the water pressure and so half the media is out of the filter and water trickles out onto the floor. I clean this thing top to bottom literally every week now to help with this.

Also, it always takes multiple tries to turn it back on after water changes, I'll fill it with water and just quietly hear the motor, but it's clearly not totally going. So I have to dump out the water and unhook the motor a few times before it finally turns on.

Also, sometimes the water flows over the edge and gets water all over the floor when it decides to "go crazy" with the water on top where it's not a nice smooth flow like it should be.

Also, some weeks it's totally silent, but other weeks it sounds like a train wreck happening inside my bedroom.

There's another 5 or so "Also's" but I'll leave it at that. This is the 3rd one I'm on in the last year, I guess this will be my last.

if you can, try Marineland. never ever had issues with them. i dont think i've used an aquaclear in years

Marineland is actually exactly what I've been looking at, will have to give them a shot!

I just had that same problem last night. The filter media pushed up or the top came off, i dont know really but i woke up to a big mess...at 7am. Now after cleaning and drying everything and working 8 hours i am exhausted, but totally paranoid to go to sleep!