Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-30-2009, 02:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Re-sealing an 37 gallon

I just bought a 37 gallon off Craigslist for $20 and once I cleaned it out (dead bird and all) I found that it looks to me that the previous owner (who left it in a shop owned by someone else, so no history) apparently got a little too crazy with the algae scrubbing, the silicone on the corners is rather jagged and thin in a couple places, big tears out of it, etc. I haven't filled it up yet to see if it hold water, but I can't imagine it won't. Still, it's bad enough to me that it probably needs re-sealing. This is something I've never done before though, and I read this on another thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakerman View Post
Well, if it were me, I would have bought the tank. It's REALLY easy to reseal a used tank if there are 0 cracks. You basically take a few razor blades, a bottle of alchohol and a clean towell.

Cut the old silicone completely off the aquarium, being sure not to actually stick the blade between the joined glass. Then go back and clean it all with alchohol and dry. Once completely dry, go back and put a 1/4" bead of silicone on each joint/edge, use your finger or a caulking tool to smooth out the silicone, The idea is that a little bit of silicone in the right place is better than a lot done sloppy. If you take your time, you have a 100% chance of sealing up that tank.
...and it sounds relatively easy to do. I'm an engineer and a fix-it guy, so this makes total sense. The last 37 I had (20 years ago) lost a seal and I paid a guy to redo the whole tank and it was thick and sloppy IMO. So I had a few questions before delving into that: