Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-16-2014, 04:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Re sealing an aquarium

Hello everyone, I am new to this page and this is my first post. I recently aquired a 125 gallon aquarium for free due to the fact that it started leaking . The leak is actually in the seal at the floor of the tank. I want to make a new home for my turtle, so I am looking into re-sealing it. I understand that this is quite the project and as this is my first time doing this, I would appreciate any tips. I understand that I will need to completely take the tank apart to properly seal it again and that I need to use aquarium calk, what is the best brand? How do I get the black frame off with out damaging it? And if for some reason I can not get it back on when the project is done, does it actually need to be in place to assist with holding the tank together? I am very nervous about this, I want to learn all I can before I start. Thank you!

Old 06-16-2014, 05:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

How.much water will be in it? 5 or 6 inches?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Old 06-16-2014, 06:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice