Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-24-2006, 10:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 196
Reactor 1000 in-line with 5/8" cannister outlet?

Anybody running an Aqua-Medic Reactor 1000? I'm starting to assemble my pressurized CO2 system and would like to mount the reactor in-line with the filter outlet plumbing. Problem is, the filter uses 5/8" tubing and the reactor uses 1/2". I can't find any listings for replacement parts or alternate size fittings.

I will drill and tap for new barb fittings if I must, but I'm concerned about durability going that route. carbonic acid reactions with any epoxies or plastics? I would use either brass or PVC for the new fittings.

Another option is to use a 1/2-to-5/8 barb transition with a short length of hose, but again, I'm concerned about the carbonic and also the restriction.

If you have plumbed this unit in-line with a 5/8 hose, how did you do it?


__________________

__________________
Just tipping into planted aquaria after twenty years of fish-keeping.
CGGorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 196
Well, I got my cylinder filled at lunch ($15, no wait, at the local AGA welding supplier) and bought a couple nylon 5/8" barb x 1/2" MIP adapters.

Went back to the shop and drilled/tapped the Reactor 1000 endcaps. A little teflon tape and WHAMO, instant 5/8" compatible Reactor 1000. The plastic that Aqua-medic uses to mold these parts is easy to machine. Only problem was getting a good grip on the thing. I thought about epoxying the fittings together, but opted for tape instead. Figured if the nylon fatigues over time, I can easily replace it that way.

1/2" seems pretty small considering that the recommended volume through the reactor is a minimum 300 gph and up to something like 600 gph to support the big tanks.
__________________

__________________
Just tipping into planted aquaria after twenty years of fish-keeping.
CGGorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 08:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Wizzard~Of~Ozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,039
Send a message via MSN to Wizzard~Of~Ozz
I know 1/2" will exceed 300GPH, (i've tested it off my Maxi-Jet 1200)

I have some phosban reactors on their way that will do the exact same as this (30$), just waiting on it. Also 1/2" fittings..

I can't remember where I saw it, but 1/2" is capable of about 600GPH under pressure.
__________________
Wizzard~Of~Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 11:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
travis simonson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,073
Nice work CG I've got a Reactor 1000 that I have plumbed in-line with my XP3 outlet, although my hosing was 1/2" all the way through and I didn't have to do any modifications. I works very well, the only issues (and it's not really an issue) is that I have to bleed the gas that accumulates in the reactor every couple of weeks. But that's not a problem because the manufacturer's were smart and included a bleed valve on the product. I just love German engineering
__________________
“There is something in the quality of a good translation that can never be captured in the original.”
-William Gibson
travis simonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 196
I haven't got mine hooked up yet, but if the reactor is accumulating CO2, shouldn't you lower your bubble count or increase your water flow?
__________________
Just tipping into planted aquaria after twenty years of fish-keeping.
CGGorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cannister, line, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua-Medic 1000 or Reg Grigg Reactor? jazmine Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-22-2009 08:12 AM
Aqua Medic 1000 Co2 reactor ???? MalawiMadness Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 01-14-2007 12:53 AM
CO2 Reactor 1000 and XP3 Lonewolfblue General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-01-2006 10:57 PM
Kalk Reactor Advice "Rephrased Calcium Reactor" cj10488 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-24-2004 01:34 AM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 01:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.