Red Sea 1800 skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gregcoyote

Aquarium Advice Addict
My 300 gallon reef is now over 18 years old and my home made, 6' tall Venturi skimmer is looking pretty old. So, I just bought a Red Sea 1800 after doing a bit of research. Hasn't been delivered yet, but thought I would ask if anyone else was running one and how they liked/disliked it.

Sorry haven't tryed one but would love to see your tank

Gregcoyote said:
My 300 gallon reef is now over 18 years old and my home made, 6' tall Venturi skimmer is looking pretty old. So, I just bought a Red Sea 1800 after doing a bit of research. Hasn't been delivered yet, but thought I would ask if anyone else was running one and how they liked/disliked it.

Greg,...I've been running one for the last six months or so,....kinda touchy at first trying to dial everything in just right,...I was running it off of my return pump but soon learned that wasn't the best way to do it,...I eventually bought the red sea pump that was designed for the skimmer and I haven't had any issues since,..she 's a beast but so far so good....I'm happy

I'm going to put it on the same closed loop I had my original one on. Iwaki pump pushes water from sump thru chiller then Skimmer, back into another part of the sump. Should have 500-600 gallons per hour. Secondary loop comes off this to carbon filtration and a small fluidized sand filter I have been experimenting with for a few years. How does the throat wash out work, or is it a gimmick?

Gregcoyote said: