Redox + for Cyano Algae control ????????????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

imustbenuts

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am going to try and add a picture this is my first attempt. I hope it works!

The algae starts off kind of slimy and has a lot of air bubbles on it and in it. Then it darkens and becomes thick. I have hermit crabs, and several types of snails (4 conch, 12 that bury themselves under the sand, and others I'm not sure what they are) they don't seem to eat though.

Attachments

• algae1_126.jpg
    algae1_126.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 161
  • algae3_122.jpg
    algae3_122.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 145
Cyanobacteria can become thick if left sitting to long. It will become spongy and even have sponge growth underneath and peel up in thick sheets. In picture one and three, is the algae growing on a coral skeleton?

Do a search on cyno bacteria, cyno or red slime on the site there is tons of info.

Water quality, lighting and low flow all help in the growth of cnyo.

To start your water needs to be tested for phosphate and your top off water. What kind of water are you using..

check the site for more info and post test results.

seaham358 Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:58 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do a search on cyno bacteria, cyno or red slime on the site there is tons of info.

Water quality, lighting and low flow all help in the growth of cnyo.

To start your water needs to be tested for phosphate and your top off water. What kind of water are you using..

check the site for more info and post test results.

Fluff Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:32 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------