Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2008, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 51
RedSea Prizm

Hey all. I need a Skimmer on one of my tanks bad! On my 55 Gallon tank for filteration i am running Emporer400, and Emporer280. The 400 alone is rated enough for the tank. But we all know that you really cant trust that rating. I also have roughly 44lbs LR. So im trying to put the 280 on a quarentine or something. Im looking for a good skimmer preferrably a hang on which i know is kinda hard to find. So of course the first one i come across fitting my needs is the Prizm. Iv heard a lot of mixed feelings with this skim. My buddy bought it a couple years ago, and said he hated it, but iv heard from others that live by it. Im having a hard time finding user reviews for it on Google. So does anybody on here have one? Used One? And also can you guys please recommend some better ones. That arent Too costely? I dont have a lot of room to set it somewhere thats why i like the hang on type. Thanks Kyle
__________________

__________________
NiGeR1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 02:05 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I tried one when they 1st came out. They are OK at best, but no where near enough for a 55. I wouldn't use it on anything more than maybe a 30g tank...and that might be pushing it.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 04:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 51
i went ahead and got one, ccc you said they were ok? how do you get it to produce the bubbles you want? I got it on now, and i tweak with it, and i can get the bubbles to come up, but when it gets to the collection cup it turns to water and fills up in minutes? so then i turned down the waterflow, and then the bubbles come half way up to the overflow but never cross over to the cup cause they wont get high enough? Im just wondering how you got yours to work properly?? Please i need your help. Thanks
__________________
NiGeR1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 06:32 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
It will take a good week or so to break in before it really does much.
Once it breaks in, you want to try to keep the water level/bubble line inside the skimmer about 1/2 way up the "cone". The foam will build up and eventually get into the collection cup.
Also, if you have the airline plugged into the hole near the top of the collection cup, you should unplug it and just let it hang over the edge of the tank. The little hole it gets plugged into really restricts the air the skimmer can draw.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 06:37 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 02:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 51
thanks a bunch dude, i thought that it wasnt going to work at all, im going to reinstall it and let it go. Just to see what we got here. Glad to know that you have to get it broken in!! So while its on and breaking in i want the bubbles to be half way UP THE CONE? I think thats what your saying so thats what i will do. Im getting the Coralife Skimmer here in a week. I get it 30% off anyways cause i work at the pet store. But that will be for my 150 gallon. My buddy sold me this tank he said it was a 125 its actually a 150 lol i couldnt believe it. Got the tank hood and oak stand for 300. waht a deal. Thanks a lot
__________________

__________________
NiGeR1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prizm, redsea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
redsea Co2 quitters Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-23-2006 02:41 AM
Protein Skimmers RedSea? xxnonamexx Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 04-28-2005 03:39 PM
Skimmer help...RedSea Berlin XL dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 09-07-2003 12:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.