Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-01-2012, 04:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Reef octopus skimmer

Hi I recently bort a XP-2000 cone reef octopus skimmer and was wondering if it's any good as I'm new to this it sais it's the worlds first skimmer use only pump is that a good thing or a bad thing??

Old 06-01-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicklid-collector
Hi I recently bort a XP-2000 cone reef octopus skimmer and was wondering if it's any good as I'm new to this it sais it's the worlds first skimmer use only pump is that a good thing or a bad thing??
Reef Octopus is a great brand. Should be a great first skimmer.

Old 06-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

That's what I own for my 150. It pulls at least 1/2 a cup a day. I'm very satisfied with that skimmer.
I previously owned a ETSS skimmer and I think the cone performs better. Plus it uses less electric then the ETSS.
Old 06-02-2012, 06:38 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose7878
That's what I own for my 150. It pulls at least 1/2 a cup a day. I'm very satisfied with that skimmer.
I previously owned a ETSS skimmer and I think the cone performs better. Plus it uses less electric then the ETSS.
That's made me feel better! I didn't know if it was a gd one or not, is it simple to run I can take it out the box now then lol, what equipment do I need to get a marine tank started from beginning I got a few things but need a checklist or sumfink I'm trying to do as much research before I fill the tank wana make sure I got all the equipment ready so far I got =

600litre tank including sump
4 ft aqua one lighting
Reef octopus skimmer
5 stage RO unit
Phosphate reactor
Return pump
Heater
Sand
Salt