Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-24-2005, 10:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Refractometer?

I just ordered this refractometer and was wondering if any of you have used it and if so what are your opinions on it? I have been using an Instant Ocean Hydrometer and absolutely hate it. I can never get a true reading because the arm bounces around and floats all over the place! I didn't want to spend a whole lotta money, but this one looked good for the price!

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...ode=Hydrometer

Thanks,
Jermz
__________________

__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 10:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
That's the exact one I have. works like a champ. Recalibrate it once a month.
Also, the instructions for it are wedged under the foam in the top half of the case (I finally found mine after 9 months!)
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 10:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
I'm sure the instructions will provide the necessary info., but how exactly do you calibrate it!!!
Other than that you like huh?
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 01:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
I have this one too. It should be calibrated at the factory. To calibrate it, you put a couple drops of RO water on the prism and turn the screw with the provided screw driver until it zeros when looking through the lens. You can check if it is calibrated before you first use it.
__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 02:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
I also have one and love it...

Use distilled water to calibrate it.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 02:27 PM   #6
Kam
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to Kam
Sorry to tag on to your thread, but I had the same basic issue/question. Too much good feedback to ignore, so I just ordered one.

Thanks all (esp Jermz79 for the thread and link) !!
__________________
55 Gal FOWLR
105 lbs Live rock from LR.com
2 Yellow Tail Damsels
2 Green Chromis
1 Emerald Crab
3 Peppermint Shrimp
4 Scarlet Hermit Crabs
1 Blue Knuckle Hermit Crab
1 Large Turbo Snail
Hitchhickers: 3 Purple sea urchins, lots of rock crabs, pistol shrimp, brittle stars, snails, worms, etc.
and aiptasia, aiptasia, aiptasia (it was free $$)
Kam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 02:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
No problem Kam ...

So do you use RO water or just distilled water to calibrate it?
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 03:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
The instructions say to use distilled.....
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 03:59 PM   #9
JG
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 727
You would want to used distilled water because all of the dissolved substances that would change the index of refraction are missing. RO is not the same as distilled when it comes to dissolved substances in the water.
__________________
JG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 04:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
I have used both distilled and RO and not noticed any difference. Since I have RO more readily, thus I use RO.
__________________

__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refractometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Refractometer sgc0286 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-14-2009 02:41 AM
Looking To Get A Refractometer... Help TheChad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-03-2006 12:13 PM
refractometer danj General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-31-2005 09:19 PM
Refractometer batfire Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-30-2005 10:31 AM
new refractometer dianeww General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 11-16-2005 10:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.