Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Refractometers

I've been looking on eBay and many other sites for a refractometer .
What is a good one vs no good ,
What should it include ?
It does need calibration fluid included ?
__________________

__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bray84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 513
Ive had a v2 one but broke straight away and now got the d-d h2 Ocean one now and like it better that v2 seems better built and both same price, comes with calibration fluid but don't say to use it and was fine with just tap water
__________________

__________________
Bray84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bray84 View Post
Ive had a v2 one but broke straight away and now got the d-d h2 Ocean one now and like it better that v2 seems better built and both same price, comes with calibration fluid but don't say to use it and was fine with just tap water
There are many most are either from USA or China . They are all new but doesn't say anything about including calibrating fluid .
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:35 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I spent extra money on a digital one. Made by Milwaukee. Easy to use and can skip calibrations here and there. Great piece of equipment.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Just use ro/di water or distilled water for calibration. Some refractometer have temperature compensation for accuracy but if you really think about it, you don't need such accuracy. The important thing is that you have the same readings on both water you are dealing with to maintain the salinity. The thing I like about it is that you need only 3 drops of sample to get a reading which is very convenient when acclimating livestock.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I actually read a very good article that says not to use distilled water to calibrate. Get a bottle of calibration fluid for $5, it will last you a very long time...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
http://www.reef2reef.com/blog/refrac...ain-a-warning/
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
I read somewhere if you mix salt with RO/DI water and let it sit it will go bad ?
Is this true ?
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
He did shout out loud not to use distilled water or ro water for calibrating refractometer but never explained any reason why. We are hobbyist and not scientist to have a perfectly calibrated salinity tester. I would say the free standing hydrometer is reliable enough as long as you level the table properly where you put it. If you notice the graduation of the refractometer is too close and tiny that you can hardly see a space in between bars. Compare to the free standing hydrometer you can really see more space in between bars. As I mentioned, the good thing about the refractometer is you only need 3 drops of the sample for your test which is very convenient when acclimating live stock.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:05 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
$40 from marine depot
__________________

__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.