Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-21-2004, 10:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

refugium what are they??

Im not that new to the hobby but im new to reefs and i here a lot about these things on reef forums so they must be related some how right??? I would just like to know the purpose of them and the pros and cons....

Old 09-21-2004, 11:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

A refugium is a partitioned tank that it connected to the main tank. It provides a safe haven for small critters to reproduce and provide additional food for fish and invertibrates. Many folks use them to grow macroalgae's to absorb nutrients and incorporate DSB's for NNR. Many benefits with no downside except the potential cost to set one up. Well worth the cost if you have the space.

46g SW, 65 lbs Fiji LR, 4" Aragamax DSB, Coralife 2X96w CF, CPR Bakpak II, CPR Aquafuge 12 w/ 2x9 Coralife Mini Aqualight, 4 Maxijet 600's, PCI 200W Titanium Heater, 2 Blue Green Chromis, 1 Gold Bar Maroon Clown, 1 Purple-Stripe Dottyback, Finger Leather, Trumpets, Rose Coral Open-Brain, Pagoda Cup, Xenia, Star Polyps, Yellow Polyps, Various Mushrooms, Toadstool Leather, 12 Astraea, 10 Nassarius, 4 Bumble Bee, 6 Cerith Snails, 12 Red Tip Hermits.
phases99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist