Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2011, 10:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
regent/eclipse hood help

Not sure if this the right thread but I thought I would start here. Sorry that this is my first post but I do not have much help to add as I am just getting back into the game. Anyway I have a regent/eclipse all inclusive hood and the light has just stopped working. It is an older hood but the new bulb I put in worked for about the last month when I set up my tanks again. I have searched everywhere looking for replacement parts. Does anyone know where to get a replacement for the light section only? or even if that can be done?
Thanks a bunch and I love this site. It has gotten me so excited about a hobby a gave up and am now ready to learn more and do it bigger and better.
__________________

__________________
james_h48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 01:48 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_h48
Not sure if this the right thread but I thought I would start here. Sorry that this is my first post but I do not have much help to add as I am just getting back into the game. Anyway I have a regent/eclipse all inclusive hood and the light has just stopped working. It is an older hood but the new bulb I put in worked for about the last month when I set up my tanks again. I have searched everywhere looking for replacement parts. Does anyone know where to get a replacement for the light section only? or even if that can be done?
Thanks a bunch and I love this site. It has gotten me so excited about a hobby a gave up and am now ready to learn more and do it bigger and better.
If the new bulb only lasted a month, chances are you got the wrong wattage rating for the light fixture. It should say what watts the fixture is rated at somewhere on the hood and you just need to match it with another new bulb.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 07:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
The bulb still works, I put it in another fixture. I can hear the hood trying to turn on the bulb but it simply won't go.
Thanks
__________________
james_h48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 10:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_h48
The bulb still works, I put it in another fixture. I can hear the hood trying to turn on the bulb but it simply won't go.
Thanks
Gotcha. Trying to start, but can't (flickers) is usually an indicator that the bulbs wattage is rated higher than the ballast can handle. If there's no wattage label on the light fixture (or starter) you can remove the reflector and the ballast should say what bulb it can run.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 11:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
60 Hz 35 amp

I can not find a watt maximum anywhere, the bulb I am using and have always used for years is a 15 watt. Maybe a little more story will help. I used these hoods for at least 3 years using the same wattage of bulbs as I am using now, I know this because the old bulbs were still in there. I got out of saltwater tanks for a couple years and just recently set my tanks back up. The hood that I am referring too worked for about a month and then all of a sudden quit. Maybe this will help in determining if there is a problem other than the bulb.
Thanks
__________________
james_h48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_h48
60 Hz 35 amp

I can not find a watt maximum anywhere, the bulb I am using and have always used for years is a 15 watt. Maybe a little more story will help. I used these hoods for at least 3 years using the same wattage of bulbs as I am using now, I know this because the old bulbs were still in there. I got out of saltwater tanks for a couple years and just recently set my tanks back up. The hood that I am referring too worked for about a month and then all of a sudden quit. Maybe this will help in determining if there is a problem other than the bulb.
Thanks
Could be that the ballast died, or is close to it. Ballasts can be replaced and even upgraded to take a higher wattage bulb if it's a custom fixture for your tank/hood and it's any easy DIY if you're into that. If not a new fixture may be needed.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Thats what I was afraid of. The problem is with these hoods it is filter and light all in one. Also I can not find anyplace that sells them anymore or where/how to order any replacement parts.
Thanks for the help
__________________
james_h48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:12 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_h48
Thats what I was afraid of. The problem is with these hoods it is filter and light all in one. Also I can not find anyplace that sells them anymore or where/how to order any replacement parts.
Thanks for the help
Bummer for sure. See if a local shop can put in a new ballast and up it to a higher wattage for a bulb that will fit the hood. The connectors and all are standard for most every fixture, it's just the ballast that you have to worry about.

For a custom setup like that, IMHO it'd be worth it and it would last for many more years since ballasts are now electronic and have a much longer life span.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eclipse, hood

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eclipse 3 Hood possible mods - These going to be ok? Leader of Men DIY Projects 2 01-07-2009 03:04 PM
Heater inside Eclipse hood? g General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-17-2007 01:18 PM
Modifying an Eclipse system 3 hood? Jermz79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-27-2005 01:45 PM
FS: Eclipse 3 hood with 65 watt PC light. Archive 5 02-27-2004 06:54 PM
Lighting w/Eclipse 2 hood Frogfries General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-07-2003 09:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.