Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2009, 07:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ChrisAre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 31
Regulating water flow from a pump?

I have a wet/dry filter setup that's been pieced together from different sellers on craigslist. The pump I purchased (about 700 gph I believe) is pumping too much water for the overflow box to keep up. I was told I could get a gang valve for the pump, but the guy at Home Depot didn't know what I was talking about. I've looked up gang valves but I can only find ones for air lines and I really don't know what I'm looking for. Help? Thanks!

Chris
__________________

__________________
ChrisAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:55 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
What you want is to put a T in your return line. Have on arm go up to your display, and the other arm back to your sump to divert excess flow. You put a valve on the diverter arm to control how much water goes up to the display.

This is a page on sumps:
Melevsreef.com - What is a Sump?

Half way down there is a pic of his sump plumbing. He has a line going straight up to his tank, & 2 arms, one going to the fuge, and the other going right back to the sump. This 2nd arm is what I am talking about. The valve is that thing with the red handle. Should be able to find that in HD in various diameters.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ChrisAre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 31
Ok, so I'm really dumb. For some reason I was thinking the pump was the problem, but it's actually the overflow box that's working too efficiently. So, given that I'd like to keep all this equipment, is there a plumbing attachment that I could use to regulate the water flow from the overflow box? In that picture he has a couple regulators- could I just use one of those and nix the t-line? Thanks!
__________________
ChrisAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:26 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
I am not sure what you mean by the overflow working too efficiently. Properly set up, the overflow should drain only the amount of water the pump is pumping. Normally, you want the overflow to have a capacity higher than the pump for safety reasons. You don't want to choke that down or you will risk floods.

What is the problem you are trying to solve? There may be better solutions than restricting the flow.
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 09:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ChrisAre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 31
The water level in my tank goes down too quickly and breaks the siphon. Even with the pump on for a good 30 seconds before the siphon starts the water level goes down below the ridges on the overflow. I was just assuming it was because the hole on the overflow was too wide, thus the pump can't keep up. So what would you suggest?
__________________
ChrisAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 10:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Exit 157, GSP
Posts: 27
is there a stand pipe in the outside box that retains several inches of water to stop the boxes from emptying?
__________________
cagey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ChrisAre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 31
Ok, I'm not quite sure what you're asking me, but I do know this: i currently have it set up to siphon the water out, using the utube straight to the hole in the box outside of the tank. when I purchased it the outside box had a bunch of calcium build up but as I just described, water doesn't actually build up in the outside box- it fills up the box inside the tank, goes through the utube directly to the hose that goes to the fuge. I hope that makes sense. So yeah water doesn't flood the outside box at all, but I'm not sure how i'd do that, since the water goes from the inside box directly to the hole in the box on the outside. /confusing!

This is a small picture, but I'm pretty sure this is the same product.

ADHI Over Flow Box- Single Drain
__________________
ChrisAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
You need a stand pipe inside the outside box. It will keep the siphon from breaking when the pump is off.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 01:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ChrisAre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 31
Thanks for the advice guys! I'll check out the stand pipe thing. I got a hold of the guy I bought it from and he solved the overflow problem so (hopefully) I'm set.
__________________
ChrisAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 11:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Exit 157, GSP
Posts: 27
the standpipe should go up about 3 inches or so and have a piece of foam around it to filter out solids from going to the refuge/sump. the tank height (display tank) should maintain a constant level set by the inside box height. The discharge into the tank needs that hole drilled in the side of the pipe to break siphon in case of power failure/maintenance to stop display draining by siphon back to sump. also turn off power to chk no overflow takes place w/ power failure.
__________________

__________________
cagey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, pump, water flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
getting water to flow overflow box, sump, return pump ryshark General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-19-2008 11:28 AM
Reducing the flow of a pump JRagg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-05-2006 12:12 AM
Flow Questions - Pump Arrangement noteworthy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-01-2006 10:01 AM
Add More flow with second pump? tmcpeek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 12-10-2004 06:45 PM
over flow and pump size selection ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-16-2003 04:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.