Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2005, 05:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brandon Fl
Posts: 396
Remora pro

I just bought a remora pro off of ebay and it did not come with a pump. I was wondering if I could use a mj 1200 . TIA
__________________

__________________
Tank
90 gal sw
Wet/Dry w/ LR ruble
MAG-DRIVE 700 GPH
2x Maxi-Jet 1200 Power Head
PC Lighting
Remora pro skimmer
90 lbs LR
80 lbs of Carib Sea

Fish
Majestic Angel, Pink spotted gobie. Black percular clown, Coral Beauty, Lt. Tang, Mitratus B/F, Multicolor Dwarf Angelfish
sango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 06:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
I've read that you can and I just purchased one for my skimmer. I don't know how to add it though and was gonna post the question as well so, I'm gonna just tag along on your thread. Hope you don't mind.
Can anyone give suggestions on replacing the rio pump with a maxi-jet 1200? The output on the maxi-jet is much smaller than the connecting tube for the skimmer.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 06:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
i have a remora and it is supposed to come with a maxijet. I have a mad3 on mine. But there should be a threaded adapter on the skimmer where you hook a piece of tubing between the inlet of the skimmer and the outlet o the maxi. hth
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 07:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brandon Fl
Posts: 396
I took the mj off of my sea clone and put it on the remora and it seems to work, but the question is is how good is it going to work.
__________________
Tank
90 gal sw
Wet/Dry w/ LR ruble
MAG-DRIVE 700 GPH
2x Maxi-Jet 1200 Power Head
PC Lighting
Remora pro skimmer
90 lbs LR
80 lbs of Carib Sea

Fish
Majestic Angel, Pink spotted gobie. Black percular clown, Coral Beauty, Lt. Tang, Mitratus B/F, Multicolor Dwarf Angelfish
sango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 09:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
sango, it should work just fine. How did you hook it up? Can you post a picture?

brndfrb, I bought my remora pro years ago and it came with a rio pump.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 10:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brandon Fl
Posts: 396
All I did was use some lub and slide the hose onto the pump. The same set up like the seaclone. The remora was used but in great condition. I will post a pic tomorrow
__________________
Tank
90 gal sw
Wet/Dry w/ LR ruble
MAG-DRIVE 700 GPH
2x Maxi-Jet 1200 Power Head
PC Lighting
Remora pro skimmer
90 lbs LR
80 lbs of Carib Sea

Fish
Majestic Angel, Pink spotted gobie. Black percular clown, Coral Beauty, Lt. Tang, Mitratus B/F, Multicolor Dwarf Angelfish
sango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 11:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
i have a remora also but im not sure if the pro model comes with a larger tube or not. i have a maxi 1200 on mine but had thought of putting on a larger pump. not sure of the effect it will have though. seems it would work better. i saw a web site selling the remora with a mag 3. not the pro model either. i think the pump should slide right on.
__________________

__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
remora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua-C Remora or Remora Pro - How to make it quieter! Kurt_Nelson General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-19-2007 11:47 AM
Remora C pro bonnie3188 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-17-2006 03:07 PM
Remora C Pro bonnie3188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-12-2006 10:56 AM
Remora Pro ?? RunDrums General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-16-2005 10:07 AM
? on Remora Pro havefun Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-04-2005 11:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.