Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-13-2013, 03:17 PM   #11
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
BRS Bulk Large Particle Lignite Aquarium Carbon - Bulk Reef Supply

Also, a good comparison video between the different grades:

Aquarium Carbon Demo - Bulk Reef Supply

While bituminous doesn't perform as well as some of the higher grades, I think running Rox 0.8 would be tough in a bag because the particle size is so small, and I think the lignite would turn to dust in that environment (based on my experience with lignite through my work).
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:08 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
BRS Bulk Large Particle Lignite Aquarium Carbon - Bulk Reef Supply

Also, a good comparison video between the different grades:

Aquarium Carbon Demo - Bulk Reef Supply

While bituminous doesn't perform as well as some of the higher grades, I think running Rox 0.8 would be tough in a bag because the particle size is so small, and I think the lignite would turn to dust in that environment (based on my experience with lignite through my work).
Okay great. Yeah it doesnt hve to be really high quality, my algae problem isnt that bad. But the carbon will help with that anyways right?
__________________

__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:32 PM   #13
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I am not so sure running carbon will help that. It is more about polishing the water than reducing organic nutrients. Do you know your PO4 level?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
I am not so sure running carbon will help that. It is more about polishing the water than reducing organic nutrients. Do you know your PO4 level?
Hmm darn. What can i run that will help then? No not sure of my Po4. I'll have to get one of those at BRS too
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:51 PM   #15
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Well you can run gfo in a bag to reduce phosphate. That and nitrate are the biggest nutrient contributors to nuisance algae.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
Well you can run gfo in a bag to reduce phosphate. That and nitrate are the biggest nutrient contributors to nuisance algae.
Okay well thats good! My trates are and always have been low so its definitly the phosphates then. Okay, i'll look for some GFO and carbon. This sounds good!
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:54 PM   #17
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I would test PO4 first just so you know. Low trates does not necessarily mean you don't have nitrate issues either - the algae could just be using it all up so it tests low.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:14 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
I would test PO4 first just so you know. Low trates does not necessarily mean you don't have nitrate issues either - the algae could just be using it all up so it tests low.
Okay cool i'll find out. And how does a reactor work exactly? Can i setup a phosphate and carbon dual reactor without a sump? They seem cheap and easy to grt going i just have never known what they do
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:16 PM   #19
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
You just need A pump to circulate the water. It could conceivably go into the DT.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:18 PM   #20
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
BRS has a video that shows exactly how to hook up and install.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.