Replacing Power Cord Magnum H.O.T 250

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

caudelfin

Aquarium Advice Regular
The power cord shorted and burned or melted away where it comes out of the filter. Has anyone ever removed the little door to the motor assy? It looks as if it is possible. I know that it says DO NOT DISASSEMBLE and for most people they should not. However, I am a retired electrician and Electronic Tech. And I just need enough room to solder the wires back together. I have the proper equipment and knowledge to do this if I only knew how to open the door on the bottom of the filter.

I heartily recommend that no one who is not knowledgeable in this area to try this. I hate to throw away a perfectly good HOT filter that can polish the water so easily and quickly remove silicons, phosphates and etc. from the water. I really need it and do not want to buy another. Rather spend the money on fish.

Thanks for any help that can be provided.
caudelfin.

Before you go ripping it apart; I imagine it's past it's warrantee period? I'm sure removing the cover would void it...

When something breaks it's usually my first instinct to rip it apart and fix it myself (I'm somewhat handy with an iron myself); but I have screwed myself out of a few would be free warrantee repairs the way :?

I've never seen one of these, but it's probably just glued on there for water tightness...
Maybe a pic of the door would help us pick out a way in?

HTH

I think you can buy a replacement for the entire motor assy. I have one of those too and like it a lot. But your story concerns me..... how did the cord melt? That does not sound normal.