Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-29-2004, 03:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Replacing RO membranes

It says in the manual for my RO unit, that the membrane should be changed every 6 months, or more, depending on use. So, how can I tell when the membrane needs replacing? I use a TDS meter to check for TDS, so I guess when they go up it means it's not being as efficient...

But could my RO unit also become not be as efficient in removing chlorine/chloramines etc., which won't show up in my TDS test and therefore I wont know?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 08:26 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
The TDS will climb as your membrane approaches its replacment point. The exact time frame for a replacment will depend a great deal on the amount of water your making and the quality of the water going into the filter. The dirtier the water the faster the membrane will need replaced.

The clorine and other items are usually removed/nutralized by the carbon cartrages. These do need to be replaced on a secheudle that is often more regularly than the RO membrane itself.

aquariumwaterfilters is one of our sponsors (aquafx) they have a few good articles on their site about RO filters and their maintance.
http://www.aquariumwaterfilters.com/...y/Library.html

Sure alot of their info has to do with their products but the basis of the info is valid for all RO units.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2004, 08:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I think I'll be changing the carbon carts first then, I guess there's no way I can tell how much chlorine is in the water without a chlorine test kit ? :P I've had the RO unit for 6 months, and the water going in is 150TDS. It brings it down to 2TDS. Not sure about chlorine/chloramines because I don't have a test.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 12:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Should I be testing for chlorine/chloramines now, as it's been 6 months since I got the RO unit?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 06:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I hope not because I cant find a testing kit anywhere :P Or are they contained in the TDS?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 04:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 10
MarkW19,

The TDS meter will not tell you the chlorine or chloramines levels. You can get a chlorine test kit at Walmart CHEAP. Ammonia can be tested to let you know if chloramine is present. Test for ammonia after you pass the tap water through the carbon. Also consider ammonia reducing carbon, it really saves your DI's.

The membrane does NOT need changing every 6 months, more like every 2 to 3 years. We use only DOW membranes, but that really should not matter. If it is a bargin unit that has some kind of membrane they will not stand behind, you will spend the money you saved very quickly on membranes. I hope this is not the case. I do not understand the every six month membrane changing instruction. Are you sure you read it right?

Marianne
__________________
Marianne
www.aquaFX.net
www.aquariumwaterfilters.com
AquaFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 05:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
It's not the membrane that's changed every 6 months, it's the sediment and carbon filters
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 05:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
I didn't know ammonia was present in tap water?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 04:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 10
Ammonia never was in tap water (unless there was a contamination problem). It is now added! Sounds crazy, but it is used to stabilize chlorine. Chlorine can form THM's without it.
__________________
Marianne
www.aquaFX.net
www.aquariumwaterfilters.com
AquaFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 05:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Mark you have it right now, Membranes last 2-3 years...... The resin in the DI unit and other filters need to be changed but not the Membrane. They cost too much to change every 6 months.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lifetime of RO membranes leafyseadragon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-08-2008 09:21 AM
Questions about RO membranes leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-27-2007 09:05 AM
replacing endcap adw77380 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-09-2005 03:31 PM
replacing LR BBReef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 37 02-26-2004 11:36 PM
replacing cartridges perezbob Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 10-20-2003 12:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.