Requirements for tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mako_Pacific

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Here are my tanks. All empty. Some still need to be cleaned out.

3 Gallon
10 Gallon
20 Gallon
55 Gallon

I have two quietflow filters...that's really it. One that filters 10-20 gallon tanks and another that filters 50-60 gallon tanks. I know a need a lot more things so can I get a list made of what I need or should have? Since I am new at this I don't know exactly everything I need to keep fish healthy and happy. I also don't quite know what fish should be added into what tanks. Some fish that I am looking into are...Cichlids (No longer big predators, for now), Hillstream loaches, and Corydoras. I will want more but those are only a few that I know that I do want. If I can't settle with them, I'm willing to settle with different fish. I'm the sort of guy with exact specifications but am willing to change them if need be. Please, if anyone can help me assemble a list for the products and or fish I need or can use, I would appreciate it. The only reason I am asking for a fish and product list at the same exact time is because I'm not quite sure if certain fish use different products. Logically guessing, I could only imagine. Thank you. ^_^

In general, from a hardware perspective you're going to need the same setup regardless of what type of fish you use.

Assuming you stick to a freshwater community fish tank, You'll need:
a tank
filtration
heater
lighting
substrate
decor

Obviously if you decide to do a saltwater tank or a planted tank or something different the equipment list will change in the specifics of what kinds of each of the things listed above you'll need.

But based on your current potential fish: