Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2013, 02:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Return Pump occasionally stops

Hi all, my return pump which is sitting inside my sump for my reef setup occasionally stops pumping. It will work then stop pumping for about 5 mins and then starts running again. It is an aqua one pump, but can't remember how many lph it returns. Its only 5 months old too. Has anyone else experienced the same problem with theirs, or anyone know why it's doing this?
__________________

__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 06:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Ok, it is an Aqua One Moray 3600 (3600L/hr) return pump. Someone suggested to take out the impeller out and give it a good clean, but I wouldn't have thought it would be blocked from debris or waste only after 5 months!
__________________

__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Anyone...anyone??
__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I would say cut your losses and just buy a new pump... It doesn't seem like its worth the aggravation of trying to figure the pump out. Unless of course it's something else causing it but a pump shouldn't sporadically turn off and on.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 02:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Minkota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 189
Are you sure it is the pump that is faulty, have you tried plugging it into another outlet. Is it plugged into a power strip that has a timer or a controller. If it is only 5 months old I would return it I in fact it is a faulty pump.
__________________
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 380
Is the power source constant or is it hooked up to a controller. Maybe the controller isn't set up right.
__________________
gravereaper0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 04:58 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minkota View Post
Are you sure it is the pump that is faulty, have you tried plugging it into another outlet. Is it plugged into a power strip that has a timer or a controller. If it is only 5 months old I would return it I in fact it is a faulty pump.
I'm certain it is just the pump that is faulty because I'm not having any issues with any other electrical items. I haven't tried plugging it into another outlet but I'll try that. Didn't think of that, so thanks! It's not plugged into a controller or timer. I might give the impeller a clean and if it still stops then I'll take it back to the shop and get a replacement.
__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 04:59 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravereaper0 View Post
Is the power source constant or is it hooked up to a controller. Maybe the controller isn't set up right.
Power source is constant. No controllers or timers used.
__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
Does the pump have sufficient head to return the water from your sump?
__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:24 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Paulm7373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo C View Post
Does the pump have sufficient head to return the water from your sump?
Sorry, what do you mean by head? The pump came together with the skimmer, heaters, sump and tank as a complete package brand new, so I think it would be strong enough to return the water from the sump.
__________________

__________________
Paulm7373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, return pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.