Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2008, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 17
Reverse Osmosis Filter Question...

I notice many of them list the GPD. If my 125g loses 5 GPD then why would i get a 75 GPD filter? I plan to only use the RO filter for my aquarium. What gives?

I plan to install the RO under my bathroom sink which is on the other side of the wall where I will put my tank.
__________________

__________________
aasu03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 06:10 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I'm not exactly sure where they come up with those #'s. I have a 110 gpd unit and no way do I get 4-5 gal/hour of of it. In the winter here with the cold weather, it takes me about 2 1/2 hrs to make 5 gal.

You can setup the RO so it will auto top off your tank, but you will also need a way to make water and store it for your water changes.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:02 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with CCCAPT that you really dont get what they say it does but whatever it does do when you need water you want it to make it as quick as possible. Mine only is a 50 gpd but when I want 20 gallons to do a PWC then I want it quick so I can make it up. I can always cut the water supply off when not needed.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 11:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
If you get an extra long intake hose like 25feet for the RO/DI unit and coil it up inside a 5gallon bucket of water with an aquarium heater inside the bucket it warms the supply water and speeds up the production a great deal. I think those 100gpd#s are based on 78degree source water. I dont do this I just wait for it to finish. I have a 100gpd unit I got from melevs reef for 200dollars I use it to fill my 32gallon trash can. the other day I started it at 9pm and turned it off at 6am and it filled about 25gallons which is more like 70gpd. But if i heated the source water I am sure I would get 100gpd plus
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 17
After I fill up the 5 gallon buckets (6-7) for a 20% water change, I just dump them into the tank (of course after I pull some water out, somehow)?
__________________
aasu03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:18 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Siphon or pump
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 17
Okie Dokie... Kinda new here, sorry'
__________________
aasu03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:29 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
No reason to be sorry. No such thing as a bad question.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 12:03 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
The gpd ratings are based 50+ degree water at 65psi. This time of year my water is quite cold and my psi is around 40. That makes the membrane much less efficient.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, osmosis

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reverse osmosis filter needed? Brenden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-25-2005 10:44 PM
Reverse Osmosis Question mgiammarco Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-03-2005 12:26 PM
help w/ REVERSE OSMOSIS FILTER bckane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-07-2004 09:56 AM
RO+DI REVERSE OSMOSIS FILTER bckane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-04-2004 05:23 PM
RO+DI REVERSE OSMOSIS WATER FILTER smokiums Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-10-2003 06:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.