Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2011, 12:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 370
Right Or Wrong Ammonia?

I bought a random bottle of ammonia not really checking. Not sure if its the right one. Its clear and its called "Clear Ammonia" from the company "Austin's". On the back it says the active ingredient is Ammonium hydroxide and it contains no Phosphorus. I am hoping to use this for a fishless cycle. Is this the correct type?
__________________

__________________
Revenantwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Is the ammonium hydroxide, or whatever it was, the only ingredient? No dyes or anything? I it's the only ingredient then it's the right ammonia.
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 370
yup the only active ingredient was Ammonium hydroxide!
__________________
Revenantwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
xxwolfpackof1xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,210
wait shake test it first
__________________
---------------------AA---------------------
Almost as addicting as the hobby itself
Thanks for joining AA, Welcome to the Fold. Buy the way Your doomed.
xxwolfpackof1xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxwolfpackof1xx
wait shake test it first
Oh right. I think I forgot about the shake test because it's late.

Shake it. If it foams, run away screaming. If it only has air bubbles it's fine.
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 370
and its clear too so yea no dyes
__________________
Revenantwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 370
bubbles no foam. Why run if it foams rofl?
__________________
Revenantwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
xxwolfpackof1xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bettababe1011

Oh right. I think I forgot about the shake test because it's late.

Shake it. If it foams, run away screaming. If it only has air bubbles it's fine.
lmao good way to put it. if it has anything remeotly close to soap bubbles DONT USE if it does and you hve an ace store near by buy ammo from them 2.67 for a 32oz bottle pure janitorial strength ammo 100% safed to use
__________________
---------------------AA---------------------
Almost as addicting as the hobby itself
Thanks for joining AA, Welcome to the Fold. Buy the way Your doomed.
xxwolfpackof1xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:20 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
xxwolfpackof1xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revenantwing
bubbles no foam. Why run if it foams rofl?
itl have soap perfumes etc that may not be listed on ingredients and youl have to redo your whole tank
__________________
---------------------AA---------------------
Almost as addicting as the hobby itself
Thanks for joining AA, Welcome to the Fold. Buy the way Your doomed.
xxwolfpackof1xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:21 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 370
anything close to soap bubbles? o.o
__________________

__________________
Revenantwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong ammonia during fishless cycle? Bl414 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 04-01-2011 10:29 AM
Started Cycling With Wrong Ammonia, Should I Change Substrate? Scott23 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 07-22-2010 02:51 PM
Hospital tank loaded with ammonia? What did I do wrong? coolchinchilla Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 6 04-27-2006 01:51 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
fishless cycling - i think i used the wrong ammonia mchief Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-28-2004 12:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.