Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2011, 10:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gubernaculum86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 436
RO/DI

Anybody have any experience with this RO/DI unit. It's really cheap and does a 100gpd. I havent been able to find much on it.

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...d=380255124367
__________________

__________________
Gubernaculum86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
It looks like the unit I use. The seller is very popular on this site for their units so I'd vote to buy it.

I havent had any issues with mine and the one person I know of who did got very good customer service from the company.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gubernaculum86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 436
I think I got the link off one of your threads lol. Does it come with a faucet attachment or do I have to replace a faucet? Or what?
__________________
Gubernaculum86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
You just have to ask for the faucet adaptor or garden hose adpator when you order. Or else they will send you a hard connect kit that I don't think is portable.

You can put the unit into a closet when your done if you get the faucet /hose connector. Just make sure to tell them in the notes section of your payment.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gubernaculum86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 436
Ok cool thanks so much!
__________________
Gubernaculum86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South shore Nova Scotia
Posts: 420
Kinda looks like a Kent barebones
__________________
dollabill420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
I have the same RO/DI unit and I love it!! Used it twice and have had no problems with it. No more carry jugs upstairs!
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 11:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
fouldsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 158
So with a unit like this do you have a length of tubing that then carries the pure water back to the aquarium to fill it up whilst the waste water from the unit empties in to the kitchen sink, kinda like with a python?
__________________
55g FW South American community tank
20g SW FOWLR tank
2.6g Fluval Spec III SW reef
fouldsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 03:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
The RO/DI unit only makes pure water...you fill up containers then mix salt in it before you add it to your aquarium..... I usually have around 14 gallons of RO/DI ready to go.
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 03:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocean
The RO/DI unit only makes pure water...you fill up containers then mix salt in it before you add it to your aquarium..... I usually have around 14 gallons of RO/DI ready to go.
There are three tubes, one goes to the faucet ( adapter), one tube is for waste water and the other tube is for the RO/DI water.
__________________

__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI Fozzy225 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-12-2011 11:30 PM
ro/di water Keybler Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-19-2011 08:09 PM
loving my ro/di unit and t5 lights! ocean General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-16-2011 08:00 PM
How to buffer RO/DI Water naturally Keybler Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 07-10-2011 02:24 PM
Lights, RO/DI... ocean General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-03-2011 05:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.