Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2012, 10:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The DI stage is very important. 99% of the R.O.D.I. units out there use the same size filters.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:50 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
This may be a dumb question- but where does the clean water being produced go/stored? If I don't have a barrell, can I leave the system hooked up and just produce the water as needed? How long would it take to fill a 5 gallon bucket? Sorry for the questions- I'm just trying to unerstand how it works.
__________________

__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:04 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
You would have to get some type of storage container. Rubbermaid are common just make sure FDA approved. Googling would bring up some containers. I bought a cylindrical 17 gallon container that fit my space. Plastic-Mart.com I think was site.

As far as production. Depends on water pressure, type of unit, temperature of water and if filters are new or getting clogged from being In system for 6 months.

Float valves are recommended by me since easy to let water run and forget your making water. Overflows will happen without float valve. Make water in bathtub also good preventative measure.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:25 PM   #14
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I have the 50 gpd unit and I fill a 5 gallon bucket in about an hour. Waste water output is different for some of the units too, I think. For every gallon of pure water you also waste water.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:27 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I run my pure water line from the unit to a Brute garbage can with a float valve. Real easy stuff, I promise.

I have overflowed my containers in the past so the $10 float valve can be a great thing. lol

The ebay unit makes about a 5 gallons an hour, the BRS unit makes 2. something gallons an hour on their 75gpd setup. It does depend on your water pressure for quantity, but the 5g an hour is about average.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:41 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keimaxbode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
You also want to pick up a TDS (total dissolved solids) meter for maybe $20. This will tell you when you need to replace the filters. You can test the tap water at your house and then see how clean the ro/di unit gets it. My tap is at 250tds and my pure water is at 0 which is where it should be.
Where would you get this TDS meter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
I run my pure water line from the unit to a Brute garbage can with a float valve. Real easy stuff, I promise.

I have overflowed my containers in the past so the $10 float valve can be a great thing. lol
And can you get the float valve at any hardware store? Sorry, I know nothing about plumbing.

I plan to order tomorrow - getting ready to upgrade finally.
__________________
Keimaxbode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:29 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Most online stores that sell RO DI will sell float valves. Like bulk reef supply or the filter guys. They also both supply in line tds meters. You can add them to your order and they will install it online on your RO DI system.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO membrane mess up.. Blakskall General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-24-2012 06:59 AM
RO/DI unit? lsugurl10 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-02-2012 01:31 AM
to/Di MatthewM Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-28-2012 10:07 PM
RO with a water softner Jems Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-28-2012 10:03 PM
Im looking for an RO unit for under $100. Floods7 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 02-27-2012 10:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.